Community
Search
Notices
Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

The Whale

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2008, 05:05 PM
daven
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Whale

I've been kicking this around for a couple years, and I finally just decided to do it. I built this with all leftover parts that I had around the shop without buying anything. My goal was to create a simple to build Q500 airplane, that utilizes an off the shelf ARF wing (VIPER), that would be competitive in 424 or club style Quickie Racing.

I am very much looking forward to this test flight, I expect it to be intereresting. My hope is to get it in the air, find out its bad habits, safely land it, and then mix them out with my radio. If any of you experts out there want to predict the effects of a full pull elevator turn on knife, or expected take off / landing issues, I'd be curious to hear your thoughts.

I had a great name picked out for this plane, but after taking the first picture below, I figured if it looked like a Whale, thats what I should call it.

If any of you question my sanity, so be it, it was fun and partially induced by cold wintery days like today mixed with a couple coldies.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mj24578.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	21.3 KB
ID:	855297   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mi22117.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	89.8 KB
ID:	855298   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sy63611.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	855299   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rl24574.jpg
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	855300   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ju11810.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	855301   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lc47448.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	855302   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mo13945.jpg
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	855303   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wv73572.jpg
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	855304  

Old 01-19-2008, 05:17 PM
daven

Default RE: The Whale