Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

need cg help

Reply
Old 05-14-2013, 04:19 PM
  #1
MFLOOD3800
Thread Starter
 
MFLOOD3800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: beaver, UT
Posts: 1,655
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default need cg help

Hey racers,
A friend of mine has an old viper Q500. It has full length ailerons, T tail and the engine mounts upright , yet the crank is no where near the thrust line center of the fuse. My question is whats the CG?
I started at 3.38". I have since remover 1 1/4 oz from the tail ( a little at a time). It flew like crap at first, flew like crap when I took off 1/2 oz and still flies like crap with the rest off.
When he got it, it had almost 2 ozs at the tail. My maiden was a total handfull and definately tail heavey, hence a removal process of that dead weight. I have 4 flights on it, and it still porpuses, so Im still taking throw rates down, but its next to nothing no (maybe 1/8" at most)
The ailerons act like there is slop (cant trim) but the hinges and controls are tight?
Any ideas here?

For what its worth, Ive flown lots of quickys and other race type planes. Never have I had one this bad.
MFLOOD3800 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:34 PM
  #2
Kevin Matney
 
Kevin Matney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, MI
Posts: 518
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

Marty
I would set it to 2.625 to 2.75" That is what I fly the Viper Dog at. It has a viper wing on it.
Kevin Matney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:57 PM
  #3
MFLOOD3800
Thread Starter
 
MFLOOD3800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: beaver, UT
Posts: 1,655
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

Thx Kevin, is the dog using the old old viper wing?
In fact I bet that I am close to 2 5/8 already. Has anyone heard of the crank of the engine being well below the fuse center line?
MFLOOD3800 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:19 PM
  #4
Kevin Matney
 
Kevin Matney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, MI
Posts: 518
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

I got them from tower as a replacement wings
Kevin Matney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 04:26 AM
  #5
diggs_74
 
diggs_74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Emerald, WI
Posts: 1,648
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

I guess I would start looking at the incidence on the firewall, wing and tail.. The center line of the engine doesn't have to be the center line of the fuse as long as it's straight.. Assuming the firewall is only 2.25" square, it can't be that far off anyway..
diggs_74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 04:33 AM
  #6
MFLOOD3800
Thread Starter
 
MFLOOD3800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: beaver, UT
Posts: 1,655
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

Hey Lee,

we did discuss the incidence points. I will set the CG for sure , slow the throws. It just flies like something is wrong.
Thx again guys
MFLOOD3800 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 05:50 AM
  #7
diggs_74
 
diggs_74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Emerald, WI
Posts: 1,648
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

The worst flying quickie I ever flew had a positive wing and negative tail.. It didn't matter what I did I couldn't get it to fly right.. It wasn't mine but the guy that owned it told me to take it and fix it or trash it.. I cut off the tail and reset the wing making sure everything was at zero.. Set the CG and it flew pretty well.. Then, promptly midaired with the guy who gave it to me the week before.. Carma I guess..
diggs_74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 07:21 AM
  #8
daven
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

This is the old Hobbico Viper low wing I believe? They never did fly very good, at least I didn't think so and most were heavy pigs.

The 2 5/8 - 2 3/4 sounds about right to me, could you possibly have a sloppy servo in there that is not centering properly? I'd swap out the elevator servo and see if that helps.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:16 AM
  #9
MFLOOD3800
Thread Starter
 
MFLOOD3800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: beaver, UT
Posts: 1,655
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

Took another 1/4 oz off tail, reduced throws and it flew much better. I would never race it as it isnt 130 ish, yet flies good for this beginner just thinking of racing. We had to shim the L/G forward to accept the reduce aft CG. Then it seemed fine. i got 4 more set up flights on it today. Turns like a lead sled (heavy model). It is now flying with 1 1/2 oz of less tail weight. Cant believe it even flew with all that originally on it.
Thx for the input guys.
MFLOOD3800 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 02:15 PM
  #10
Kevin Matney
 
Kevin Matney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, MI
Posts: 518
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: need cg help

The Viper Dog is set too 0,0,0
Kevin Matney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:03 PM.