Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pylon Universe - RC Pylon Racing > Q-500 Racing
Reload this Page >

Choice for Receiver In The Q-500 2.4Ghz Radio Systems:

Community
Search
Notices
Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Choice for Receiver In The Q-500 2.4Ghz Radio Systems:

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2016, 08:07 AM
Electriceddie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choice for Receiver In The Q-500 2.4Ghz Radio Systems:

Hi Guys,

Believe it or not I am new to the 2.4 Radio systems. I need to get a new receiver or two, for Q-500 racing. We use to use the "Hitec Supreme Receivers" in racing because they handled the speed and vibration that was in the airframes of the Q-500 planes. But what would be the new choice for the 2.4ghz radio? Also let me add that the 2.4ghz radio I have is the Spektrum DX7 radio. It has 2 small receivers and when I check Tower the ones by Hitec & Futaba are single receivers. Are they compatible or not? Could someone explain these finer points?

Thanks
Ed

Last edited by Electriceddie; 10-09-2016 at 03:58 PM.
Old 10-10-2016, 08:01 AM
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (61)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

the hitec receivers are only compatible with the hitec transmitter, and same for the Futaba. With a Spektrum DX7 transmitter, you'll need a Spektrum receiver.

They have a couple new ones, with built in telemetry, for fairly reasonable prices. The new AR6600T and the new AR6070T, they're like 65 bucks and 70 bucks respectively.

that being said, I've been using mostly AR8000 receivers in my race planes - that, or the AR7610. They both have the satellite receiver you mentioned.