Community
Search
Notices
Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Engine tricks

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2002, 11:53 PM
rvd

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Engine tricks

Just wondering what tricks some pylon racers do to their engines to sqeeze more power or rpm out of them..
I know that revealing secrets can educate your rivals but I'm just a hobbyist that enjoys tinkering.
Old 02-22-2002, 07:57 AM
rvd

Default Engine tricks

i guess this is a touchy subject.. hehe no biggie though
Old 02-22-2002, 11:54 AM
Scorpionjack

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Engine tricks

Well! I don't do it now but years ago to get about 2-500K more from an engine I use to polish the complete fuel Tranfer ports.
IE. Using a pencil eraser on a dremel extention polish the Carb of any flashings all the way through to the crankshaft. Crankshaft same thing all the way through to a High sheen. Engine transfer ports/side of case High sheen again.
Rossi's I use to match the exhaust port of the exhaust to match the exhaust port of the engine. But this required cutting and I soon quit as this was a modification not polishing!
Old 02-22-2002, 12:47 PM
Bill Vargas
My Feedback: (5)

Default Engine tricks

I like using a 30,000 RPM Die grinder on the crankshaft to make it lighter

BV
Old 02-22-2002, 01:24 PM
Ed Smith

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine tricks

Polishing transfer passages is a myth. Have you ever noticed how moisture 'beads' on a highly polished surface. This is exactly what happens to fuel traveling along the transfer passage. We want a consistant fine mist going into the combustion chamber, not globs of fuel. It is called a spray bar remember. Anybody who takes a grinder to the inside of an engine obviously thinks he has more knowledge than the original designers who must have got it all wrong!