Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Futaba Servos

Reply

Old 03-09-2008, 04:52 PM
  #1  
Conrod
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Palmerston North, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 245
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba Servos

HI
Can you Futaba Guy's tell which servos you are using in your Quickies?

Thanks Geoff
Conrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 05:02 PM
  #2  
garys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

For the last few years I've been using the 9650's on aileron and V-tail, with a 3102 on throttle.
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 05:11 PM
  #3  
waynebang
 
waynebang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: hoschton, GA
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

I use the S3002 which is a high torque/metal gear Mini servo. 1.23 ozs and 45.8 oz-in torque.
waynebang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 08:29 PM
  #4  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

9650 digis on elevators and ailerons.

3102's on throttle.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 03:00 AM
  #5  
dapan
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: larisa, GREECE
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

9650 on elevators and ailerons.

3101 on throttle
dapan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 04:53 AM
  #6  
Conrod
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Palmerston North, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 245
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

9650 it is, have some Hitec 85 that I think will do the throttle.

Thanks Geoff
Conrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 06:01 AM
  #7  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

The 85 will work fine on throttle.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 11:03 PM
  #8  
Backplate
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Christchurch International, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

Hi you guys,
Using 9650 Futaba Servos what size battery pack are you using?
Backplate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 02:29 AM
  #9  
dapan
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: larisa, GREECE
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

hi
900mah sanyo eneloop aaa are my choice

dapan
dapan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 07:22 AM
  #10  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

4 or 5 cell 720 mah NIMHS are what I have been using.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 05:02 PM
  #11  
bobcat10_4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Richmond, RI
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

Not to get into the question at hand,but I have a issue that has been plaguing me lately; I have had to swap-out 3 of my 3004 servos in 2 planes because they "float". By that, I mean if I run the servo(s) in one direction, and let them go back to neutral, they tend to overrun neutral by a little, then neutralize. There is another fellow pilot who experiences the same condition.
Is this humidity related? Or something deeper. I have, at times been able to take the servo case apart, expose it to low to mid range humidity\temperature, them put it back together, and it's fine.
Bobcat
bobcat10_4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 07:40 PM
  #12  
Scorpion Racing
Senior Member
 
Scorpion Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 624
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos

I have seen that happen for a few reasons.

One was from using a long cheap (hobbico) servo extension. I replaced them with the heavy duty JR's and the problem went away.

Sometimes the connectors get corrosion or moisture on them, and this will cause it.

The other time it was just a worn out servo. (I would guess the centering pot was shot)

I would try unplugging the servo wires and cleaning them first. Then try some different extensions (if the servo is on one!) and see if it clears up. If neither of those work, I would switch the servo out.

Good luck.
Scorpion Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:47 PM
  #13  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,915
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Servos


ORIGINAL: bobcat10_4

Not to get into the question at hand,but I have a issue that has been plaguing me lately; I have had to swap-out 3 of my 3004 servos in 2 planes because they "float". By that, I mean if I run the servo(s) in one direction, and let them go back to neutral, they tend to overrun neutral by a little, then neutralize. There is another fellow pilot who experiences the same condition.
Is this humidity related? Or something deeper. I have, at times been able to take the servo case apart, expose it to low to mid range humidity\temperature, them put it back together, and it's fine.
Bobcat
The 3004 is the lowest cost, standard sized BB servo that Futaba makes. I think Tower sells them for something like $12. At that cost, if you have any problems just replace them. Perhaps your problems are related to using these low cost servos in a fairly high vibration environment like a racer and maybe they are not up to the task. Maybe moving up to a more suitable servo would be in order.
Truckracer is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service