Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

Reply

Old 09-28-2008, 11:15 AM
  #1  
kleinatze
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ks, GERMANY
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

Hello!

Currently I'm using HiTec servos HS225 (elevator, rudder) and HS85 (aileron, shut off). They do a good job so far but the accuaracy of the positioning especially of the elevator could be better. Due to the cinematic relations I have to use dual rate which is set to 30% of the whole way. The plane feels a little bit "indifferent" around the lateral axis.
So, my idea was to use the digital brother of the HS225, the HS5245.
What are your experiences with this servo? Does it work more precisely? But the most important question is if this servos is absolutly relieable. In a german forum I've found some post where users refer that the HS5245 blows out sometimes. The problem also arises with a 4 and 5 cell battery.

What are your long-term experiences?

Thanks!!

Greetings to all racers all over the world,
Andi
kleinatze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 06:04 PM
  #2  
Terryoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: WerribeeVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

On 4 cell (4.8 volt ) packs I have had no problem and found them to be a great servo , evan using them in my F3D planes.
I have a friend who has burnt out 2 of them but I believe he left his plane switched on till the batterys went flat, I have never had this problem
Terryoc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 06:42 PM
  #3  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

I used quite a few of them, and don't think I ever had a problem with them. They are a little heavy due to the metal gears.

A servo I have had good luck with the past couple years (for about the same price as the Hitec in question) is the Futaba 9650.

Its a little lighter, and has nylon gears.

Also, not sure I would recommend Hitec 85 on the ailerons of ANY racer.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 11:49 PM
  #4  
freeair
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

i,ve had no problems what so ever with the Hitec 225 non digital servos, maybe yours could be getting abit sloppy with age. try some new hs-225,s plus go bigger on the aileron servo [ hs-85 ] is abit risky, any good standard size servo would be better.
freeair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 01:18 AM
  #5  
HighPlains
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Over da rainbow, KS
Posts: 5,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

Use two of the HS-85 servos on the ailerons and you will be fine. It is best to use full travel on all control surface servos for best mechanical advantage.
HighPlains is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:26 AM
  #6  
djlyon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 2,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

Hi Andreas

I changed from HS225 to HS5245 about 3 or 4 years ago for exactly the same reason you are looking at them. They solved the problem. They are very good and accurate. But there is some down side. The metal gears wear much faster than the nylon gears[]. I get about 2 seasons out of a set of gears in my practice plane.

HS 5245 "blowout" is caused by stalling the servo. If the servo is accidentally stalled at the end of travel during linkage set up they blow in a few seconds with no smoke. Guess how I know. I killed 2 of them in one day this way. I have never had any other failure of these servos. I also use 5125s. They also work fine but the gears wear out even faster.

Some people put the nylon gears from the 225s in their 5245s I have heard.

Denis
djlyon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 12:32 PM
  #7  
kleinatze
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ks, GERMANY
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

Hi!

I'm using two of the HS85 for aileron: each flap one servo. But I agree the HS85 gear seams to be not realy robust..
For my next plan Im goin to use two HS225. For this function they should be good enough.

HighPlains, I share your point that on should use the whole 100% travel path. My next plane will get large control horns on the flap to improve the cinematic relations.

djlyon, I think I'v read from you in RCN? ;-)

Curious that only the germans seam to have problems with short curcuits..

Perhabs, at first I put a HS5245 for the rudder. If it survives the first few flights I will exchange it as elevator - servos.
I'm a bit suspiciously..

More posts of experiences are welcome!

Thanks,
Andreas

kleinatze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 01:06 PM
  #8  
djlyon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 2,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HiTec HS5245 digital suitable for Q500?

djlyon, I think I'v read from you in RCN? ;-)

Yes that is true. I am the guy that speaks and reads German but can only write in English[8D]

Denis
djlyon is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service