Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

Reply

Old 10-28-2008, 04:02 AM
  #1  
Zimodile
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ibstock, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

As it says really - I fly F3F a bit too and this servo is widely used as a really heavy duty wing digital. Torque is nearly the same as a 5245MG, but the weight is 0.8oz so a fair bit lighter. I was thinking that this servo might work nicely for the tail of a Q500 - anyone with any experience?

Many thanks

Zim
Zimodile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 06:26 AM
  #2  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

I bought 3 of them from Cirrius a couple years ago at the Nats site after be recommended them by Dennis Cranfill who was using them in his Loki Q40.

Out of the box, one of the three did not work, it just wiggled all over the place when plugged in. The other two have worked great, and have been on the V-tail of mine for quite a while. They work well, but I'm a little more comfortable sticking with the Futaba 9650. Its a little cheaper, a little heavier, but I trust it a lot more.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 09:02 AM
  #3  
Zimodile
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ibstock, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

Hey Dave - thanks for that. Have you used the Futaba 9650 on a 5 cell supply? I use a lot of 3150 in my sailplanes and I know that they blow up on 6v supplies...

Many thanks

Z
Zimodile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:32 AM
  #4  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

I don't normally run 5cell, so I can't comment. There should be someone on here that has, the 9650 is used quite a bit by the sponsored Futaba fliers in Quickie and Q40.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:52 AM
  #5  
garys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

The 9650's are fine on 6 volts, although I typically use 4.8. The 3150's will need a voltage regulator if you intend to use more than a 4.8volt batter, and the specs for them even say to only use 4.8volts (yes, a freshly charged 4.8 volt pack can be close to 6 volts, but a freshly charged 6 volt pack is considerably higher). If you want to use an unregulated 6 volt pack, you may want to try the 3155's instead of the 3150's.
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 11:09 AM
  #6  
djlyon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 2,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

There are at least 3 of us (Norm, Dan and myself) in our club using the 94761s in Q40s and 428s and are happy with them.

Denis
djlyon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 12:06 PM
  #7  
Zimodile
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ibstock, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

Thing is the 9650 works out at nearly $90 over here in the UK. We can get the Airtronics (Sanwa over here) servo for about $40! I hate to compromise on cost if there is any performance loss, but I'm always rather pleased when I save a buck or two and don't loose any performance!

Zim
Zimodile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 12:53 PM
  #8  
djlyon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 2,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

$40? Is that US dollars. That's an extremely good price. I pay $60 at Hobby People for 94761s

Denis
djlyon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:29 PM
  #9  
djlyon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 2,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

The 94761s seem to be rock solid so far. Tight, good power, and precise. They don't instantly self destruct after being stalled at travel limit like a 5245. I've used the 5125s but the little metal gears in these don't last long in a Q500. That might be the real question for the 94761s. Well the gears take the punishment of Q40 and 428. The jury is probably still out on that one. But so far so good.

Denis
djlyon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 04:13 PM
  #10  
rcpattern
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

I've been running the 9650's in my pattern stuff the last few years, REGULATED to 6.1 volts..I run Li Ion packs and have the regulator set at 6.1V. I've never had an issue with the 9650s and they get a work out on elevators on pattern stuff.

I've run them in my Q500 stuff the last few years at 6V with no problems...

This year I've switched back to one single servo on the elevator in my pattern plane with the DEPS pushrod system, but I still use the 9650 on throttle. A lot of the Futaba fliers with the bipes now are running them as ailerons and most are regulated at or near 6V for maximum power and i've yet to hear about any failues at 6V.

I have a couple of 3150's that I've run at 6V also, but never seen a problem, but it is regulated to 6.1V, not hitting them with 7V at startup or anything...

Arch
rcpattern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 06:30 PM
  #11  
Zimodile
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ibstock, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

Thanks for all the replies chaps. Couple more questions for clarity...

The 94761 - you all reckon that this is OK for an unregulated 5 cell set up?

And the reason for the 5 cell set up - I'm a newcomer to Spektrum, and intend to install this into my Q500... My battery set up will be 2000mah AA Sanyo Eneloop packs. Do I need to bother with 5 cell to give head room for the Spektrum "brown-out" thing? To be honest, from a weight and servo perspective, I don't see any real need to push them with a 5 cell supply, but the Spektrum voltage thing keeps me thinking that 5 cell might be the responsible solution. Give me the benefit of your experiences re Spektrum in Q500 and power supply to it? I'm looking to use the AR6200 receiver system.

Many thanks again chaps.

Zim
Zimodile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 11:51 AM
  #12  
Giant
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HOBE SOUND, FL
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

I've been useing spectrum in my vipers for the last 8 months. I have had two brown out episodes and I don't want any more. I was useing 750 ma AAA 5 cell packs. I have since changed to lipo's with regulators and have had no more problems. I understand the problem occurs more with the AAA packs. The large capacity one that you are useing should work fine, but is a little heavy.
Giant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 01:13 PM
  #13  
Zimodile
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ibstock, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

Yeah I might think about going lipo on this - I have it in a couple of larger sport models and I do like the way its working.

Having said that, the airframe I'm going to be using is the Ninja and once finished, I think this will have enough room for the weight of a 5 cell 2000mah pack.

Z
Zimodile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:38 PM
  #14  
rideon67
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: piedmont, SC
Posts: 162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servos - anyone used the Airtronics 94761Z?

Be sure those 6200 Rxs are set up for the quick connect. Waiting 5 or 6 seconds to regain control tends to get expensive. I've found this to occur not only on brown outs, but any kind of voltage interruption (like a bad connector or switch). Control tends to come back exactly 15 feet before impact.
rideon67 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service