Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

Reply

Old 11-03-2008, 04:14 PM
  #1  
Kevin Matney
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Kevin Matney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, MI
Posts: 518
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's would you use
Kevin Matney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 06:24 AM
  #2  
s. wallace
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Endicott, NY
Posts: 782
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

I converted my 9 channel JR to 2.4 & used the AR6200 all season without any problems. It's considerably smaller & easier for me to mount in a Q-500 than the AR7000.
s. wallace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 06:34 AM
  #3  
luv to race
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Liquored, FL,
Posts: 678
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

Kevin,

Take this for what it's worth... Initially there were some reports of issues with the AR6200's. Those issues seem to of gone away, not sure why. Don't know if they changed something with the receiver (software, firmware)? The AR7000 is what Travis Flynn and myself have been using since the Spectrum thing hit the market. We use them in Q500, Q40, and FAI.. They are super solid, lots of range during range check procedure.

However, Like "lotus72D"... lots of guys never experienced any issues. Darrol Cady as well, he used the AR6200's in his stuff, no issues there either.

But if it was me, I'd run the AR7000's.

Randy Bridge
Team JR
luv to race is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 09:07 AM
  #4  
Bill Vargas
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Posts: 1,987
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

AR7000 stuff here for me,,, just velcro it and forget it


BV
Bill Vargas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 12:30 PM
  #5  
Kevin Matney
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Kevin Matney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Erie, MI
Posts: 518
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

Were is the best place to place the 2 antennas In Q/500 and Q/40
Kevin Matney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 06:10 PM
  #6  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's


ORIGINAL: Kevin Matney

Were is the best place to place the 2 antennas In Q/500 and Q/40
BUMP!! What Kevin asked??
BarryReade is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 06:55 AM
  #7  
luv to race
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Liquored, FL,
Posts: 678
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

In my quickee's I use the AR7000, like I said above. I lay the main RX right on the bottom of the fuse, right behind the fuel tank... oriented so that the end of the RX where the antenna's are... that end is closest to the fuel tank.. and the end of the RX where the servo leads plug in is facing the towards the rear of the plane, or away from the fuel tank. I mount the remote RX with velcro against the side of the fuse, right under the rear wing bolts (just pick a side).. I use the standard 6 inch lead that comes with the RX. ON the main RX..the antenna's may curl up the sides of the fuse a little, because the fuse is more narrow than the length of the antenna's... I don't worry about it, just let the lay as they wish.

In FAI and Q40... I mount the remote receiver further back in the fuse. basically as far back as I can get it. However, I have to change the 6" wire lead between the two RX's to a 9" or 12".. I have probably 10" of separation between my two receivers in my FAI planes. I can walk over forever holding the bind button, and can't make it failsafe...until I turn the off the radio, then it failsafes. Serious range!

Randy Bridge
Team JR
luv to race is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 08:10 AM
  #8  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

Thanks Randy, every little bit helps, especially when you are playing catch up.
BarryReade is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:45 PM
  #9  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,790
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

Hi!
Ar6200!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57250.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	1121760  
jaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 01:36 AM
  #10  
IRLJR
Member
My Feedback: (37)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

Anyone having problems with AR7000 and carbon fiber?
IRLJR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 07:44 AM
  #11  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's


ORIGINAL: IRLJR

Anyone having problems with AR7000 and carbon fiber?
I have two of the AR7000 and plan on using them for racing. Are you having problems with yours that you think might be caused by carbon fiber?
BarryReade is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 08:59 AM
  #12  
IRLJR
Member
My Feedback: (37)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's


ORIGINAL: Marauderer


ORIGINAL: IRLJR

Anyone having problems with AR7000 and carbon fiber?
I have two of the AR7000 and plan on using them for racing. Are you having problems with yours that you think might be caused by carbon fiber?
I have not tried the 2.4 and AR7000 yet. Just trying to avoid any potential problems. Hoping someone here has some actual flight experience to report.
IRLJR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 09:23 AM
  #13  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4GHz for pylon RX's

I was at a Quickie25 race last week and at least 50% of the guys were 2.4. I think that is nthe way to go.
BarryReade is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service