Q-500 Racing Discuss AMA 428, AMA 424, and any other variants of Quickie 500 racing

Installs...

Reply

Old 11-04-2008, 07:01 AM
  #1  
Zimodile
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ibstock, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Installs...

Hey all

Wondering if any of you more experienced folks would mind posting up some pictures of your Q500 installs? I've heard that some put the tank on the CG - is this a widespread practice?

Many thanks

Z
Zimodile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 07:23 AM
  #2  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installs...

Here are three quick pictures. I set my seekers and vortex's up the same. Elevator, throttle servo, and switch behind the wing. Battery and receiver mounted with velcro between the rear former and the tank, depending on balance. I don't completely put my tanks on the CG, although many people do. Mine center about an inch in front of the C.G. One of the pictures is a Neme-Q+, servos in front of the wing since there is no hatch. The nose is slightly shorter on the Neme to offset the CG of having the servos in front of the wing.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki20182.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	1065250   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id95264.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	68.8 KB
ID:	1065251   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ou49459.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	52.9 KB
ID:	1065252  
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 07:31 AM
  #3  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installs...

Here is a picture of the servos/switch behind the wing. Notice the Fly Fishing line used as a pull on/off switch. Helps reduce vibration to the switch in flight.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql34199.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	63.3 KB
ID:	1065256  
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 07:46 AM
  #4  
Ed Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brantford, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,305
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installs...

The picture shows it all, complete with fishing line switch. I put marks on the balance point and tank to check for movement.

Ed S
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19495.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	1065263  
Ed Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 03:41 AM
  #5  
freeair
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installs...


ORIGINAL: Ed Smith

The picture shows it all, complete with fishing line switch. I put marks on the balance point and tank to check for movement.

Ed S
Ed, what size servos are you using in this model ?
freeair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 07:39 AM
  #6  
Ed Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brantford, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,305
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installs...

In the fuselage, Hi-Tech HS-85BB

Ed S
Ed Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service