Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Iron Sock Problems. How can you clean a dirty sock?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Iron Sock Problems. How can you clean a dirty sock?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2011, 05:58 PM
gregoryshock

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Iron Sock Problems. How can you clean a dirty sock?

Hi, I've been flying R/C for 15 years. In that time I've covered 4 models, since I've bought ARF's which are already covered, but need to be touched up from time to time. I wanted to become a better mono kote coverer. Ibought TF Top Flite MonoKote "Secrets of Great Covering with Top Flite MonoKote" DVD. My problem is the iron sock. Almost everytime I slide it over a seam or whereever the MonoKote over laps onto another peice of MonoKote, some of the color bleeds out onto the sock. Eventually that same color begins to come off the sock and onto the plane in other places. Usually right next to the piece that has just been put over top. In other words the color smears out from under the top peice. I'm not sure if this could be because my Iron is set to hot? I set the temp where Top Flite tells me Ishould.

Old 03-26-2011, 06:55 PM
jetmech05

Default RE: Iron Sock Problems. How can you clean a dirty sock?

Use baby socks...with the highest cotten content you can find...then just wash them in the washer
Old 03-26-2011, 07:09 PM
Dsegal

If I remember correctly the color in Monokote is contained within the adhesive layer. If you use Ultracote the iron cover will stay cleaner as the color is in the plastic film itself.
Old 03-26-2011, 07:09 PM
JollyPopper
My Feedback: (6)

Yeah, cotton baby socks from Walmart. They are cheap enogh that you can throw them away when they get soiled.
Old 03-26-2011, 07:10 PM
sensei

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts