Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Saito 100 Tuning Adjustments

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Saito 100 Tuning Adjustments

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2011, 06:13 PM
LargeScale88

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Saito 100 Tuning Adjustments

Ok, sense I'm still a newbie to 4 stroke engines (I'm a 2 stroke and Gas engine guy), I still need a little help tuning and getting these 4 strokes running good. I fired it up today on my new escapade, it has been run, but for less than an hour, so it doesn't have alot of run time. I followed the manual, opened the high speed 5 turns, and have the low speed flush with the throttle arm. I fired it up, it popped right away. I let it warm up for a bit, then I went full throttle, got my tach, and started leaning it out. The RPM didn't move much (it was around 9100), and then I got confused, because its not supposed to run as high RPM when rich, maybe the 14x6 prop had something to do with it? Anyway, so I just left it fairly rich. I then went for the low speed, and it sounded great. It advanced to full throttle without any problems, and had a pretty good idle. My question is, why is my engine not tuning like the manual or anyone else says? Should I run it rich just to break it in more and get more time on it? I have the valves adjusted properly, and its a good clean engine.

So I took the risk, and flew the airplane with the engine running like that. It flew great, and I didn't run the engine over half throttle. I took 6 laps around, then brought it down and landed. Then I went to rev up the throttle, and it wants to quit about 1/2 throttle, so now I'm confused even more!

Can anyone help me out? Should I just run it very rich for awhile longer to give it more hours of running time?

Thanks

Jason
Old 06-03-2011, 06:39 PM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts