Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

twin elevator servo question

Reply
Old 01-12-2012, 01:07 PM
  #1
dignlivn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default twin elevator servo question




I'm using a Futaba 7C 2.4 Tx and the aircraft Sig extra 300 has 2 elev. servos.
Plane is used and has a "Y" for the servos to the Rx.

Of course one servo travels the wrong way (Left half of the Elv.)
Not sure if I can Slave another channel with this Tx ?
I've never done this kinda set up,

All help is appreciated,

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:09 PM
  #2
FLAPHappy
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: right here
Posts: 866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

Yes, you can slave one elevator to another channel. That is the perfered method. don't use aY harness if possible. The servos are not exactly the same in speed and throw., they may fight eachother to a degree. If you must use a "y" harness, you can get a servo reverser , that will make both servos travel the same direction from most any hobby shop or try Tower or Horizon.
FLAPHappy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:14 PM
  #3
overbored77
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

In the manual you will see the ailevator function, you can use that to setup dual elevator servos.
overbored77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:15 PM
  #4
dignlivn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question



Thanks ,

I've read the manual and for the life in me, I don't
see where it tells how to Slave a channel ?

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:24 PM
  #5
overbored77
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

Page 45 of the manual. The original 72 mhz 7C did not have this option and if you did a p-mix, the aux elevator channel would not trim with
the elevator trim switch, that is why they added ailevator to the 2.4 system
overbored77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:32 PM
  #6
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question


Quote:
ORIGINAL: overbored77

Page 45 of the manual. The original 72 mhz 7C did not have this option and if you did a p-mix, the aux elevator channel would not trim with
the elevator trim switch, that is why they added ailevator to the 2.4 system
Nice thing to know. I haven't fooled with the 2.4 7 and I knew trhe reversing Y was what was used with the 72. Thanks for the input. My day is complete, I learned something!!!
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:33 PM
  #7
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,054
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

You can flip the servo horn so the control rod is on the opposite side as well.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:47 PM
  #8
overbored77
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

Gray, that is the single reason I moved to the 9C. I did however setup my old 7C in my buddys 50cc Yak with a smart fly EQ2 and it worked
perfect.

Joe, it all depends on the plane setup, if you are using dual elevator servos you will usually end up with a geometry issue, with horns opposing
each other. Still flying competitions?? I am probably going to fly some intermediate this year.
overbored77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:51 PM
  #9
dignlivn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question


Quote:
ORIGINAL: gaRCfield

You can flip the servo horn so the control rod is on the opposite side as well.


I was thinking that too. Thanks.

I'll read page 45 later and see what I can figure out too.

Thanks guys for all of ya'lls input,

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 05:45 AM
  #10
dignlivn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question




Not sure which channel the second elev. servo
plugs into ????
Page 45 does not mention ie either ??

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:08 AM
  #11
JohnBuckner
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

You can use reversed horns on dual elevator servos and avoid the use of reversing Y's with absolutely no geometry problems I have done many setups like that.

But you must raise or lower one servo so the pushrods are paralell and the horn angles are the same on both sides. Very easy to do if you are building the airplane. Problem is ARF's seldom provide offset fuse mounted elevator servos positions to allow for this.

John
JohnBuckner is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:35 AM
  #12
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

You have a radio that does it for you, and thats the best option you have available to you.

As for the second elevator servo, enable the function and then go to the monitor screen and wiggle the stick
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:42 AM
  #13
speedracerntrixie
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 5,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

If you do not have a TX that supports dual elevators, the best way Ihave found to do this is with a Smarf Fly Equalizer. It will hook up the same as a Y connector but allows you to reverse a servo and has adjustments for center and end points.


http://www.smart-fly.com/products/Eq.../equalizer.htm
speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:19 AM
  #14
overbored77
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

Looks to me like futaba forgot to include the where to plug in part out of the manual. It will be either 5,6,7.
On my 9c I use 6 for aux elevator, 7 for aux aileron. the 7c uses a 6 as a default for aileron so I would look at
5, 7. after activating the mix, and setting ailerons to 0, plug into either 5, or 7 and move the elevator stick.

After a bit of searching it looks like the default channels are 1,6 for ailerons, 2,5 for elevators.
overbored77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:41 AM
  #15
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question


Quote:
ORIGINAL: speedracerntrixie

If you do not have a TX that supports dual elevators, the best way I have found to do this is with a Smarf Fly Equalizer. It will hook up the same as a Y connector but allows you to reverse a servo and has adjustments for center and end points.


http://www.smart-fly.com/products/Eq.../equalizer.htm
It's been pretty well covered that he DOES have a transmitter that will do exactly what he wants
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 08:39 AM
  #16
dignlivn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question




Thanks guys,

I'll give it another try.

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 09:25 AM
  #17
speedracerntrixie
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 5,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

Yes but others may still benifit from the info..................we are trying to assist and promote the sport for everyone right?
speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:30 PM
  #18
dignlivn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question




No Joy,

Tried channels 5,6,&7
Ail=inh
1=0
2=0

ele=
3=+100
4=+100

Changing 3 or 4 to -100 has no effect either.

What am I missing here???

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:41 PM
  #19
dignlivn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question





Update

Got It !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

changed
ail =inh to ON !!!!!!

2nd elev. servo into channel 5
and reversed the travel and we have JOY.

Still have to adjust the travel but hey, down here from.

Thank you to all who gave their Input !!!!!!!!!!

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:56 PM
  #20
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question


Quote:
ORIGINAL: speedracerntrixie

Yes but others may still benifit from the info..................we are trying to assist and promote the sport for everyone right?
Fair point.

I will say that I see a lot of posts from people recommending things that just make installations more complicated than they need to be. IMO mixing boxes, reversing Y's, 16 batteries per plane, etc, should be avoided if they arent appropriate or necessary for the installation. Just my .02, it was nothing personal, you're certainly correct, there's more than one "right" way to do things.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:21 PM
  #21
superfli
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

One other option is to use a Futaba servo on one side and a HiTec servo on the other. You can then use a regular Y-harness.

Superfli
superfli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:39 PM
  #22
rudder turns
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: massapequa , NY
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

Hi Guys, If you go to the Futaba web site,under search FAQ, You will probably find it thereI have done it with my futaba 9C using a 7 channel receiver using a pmix,and you can reverse the servos independently so they go in the right direction,+or - 100%. If your not sure []copy your model to a second model,Say model 10,and experiment with that second model so in case you screw up the original model is still there,and you can delete the screwed up model under parameters. If it is good just add the name and your done.I hope that helps you out,Bye ED
rudder turns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:50 PM
  #23
dignlivn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question




I'll refer to post # 19


Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:54 PM
  #24
speedracerntrixie
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 5,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question


Quote:
ORIGINAL: superfli

One other option is to use a Futaba servo on one side and a HiTec servo on the other. You can then use a regular Y-harness.

Superfli

It's difficult to get two servos of the same brand and model number to track let alone 2 different brands. Back in the day we used to open the servo and reverse it ourselves. Just about all 6 channel and higher radios now support dual elevator servos now so this really shouldn't be an issue. For those who don't have a TX with the capability then the Smart Fly Equalizer is the way to go. My opinion of course. As BH said..........more then one way to get the job done.

speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:56 PM
  #25
overbored77
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: twin elevator servo question

Nice to hear it's setup dignlvn. now onto the mechanical (geomtry) adjustments, then sub trim, then endpoints. by the way what kind of plane
are we working on? pics would be nice I love to see other peoples planes.

Soory, just read it was a sig extra 1.2
overbored77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:16 PM.