Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    twin elevator servo question




    I'm using a Futaba 7C 2.4 Tx and the aircraft Sig extra 300 has 2 elev. servos.
    Plane is used and has a "Y" for the servos to the Rx.

    Of course one servo travels the wrong way (Left half of the Elv.)
    Not sure if I can Slave another channel with this Tx ?
    I've never done this kinda set up,

    All help is appreciated,

    Bob

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    LaPine, OR
    Posts
    531
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    Yes, you can slave one elevator to another channel. That is the perfered method. don't use aY harness if possible. The servos are not exactly the same in speed and throw., they may fight eachother to a degree. If you must use a "y" harness, you can get a servo reverser , that will make both servos travel the same direction from most any hobby shop or try Tower or Horizon.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    919
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    In the manual you will see the ailevator function, you can use that to setup dual elevator servos.
    Chris Murphy

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question



    Thanks ,

    I've read the manual and for the life in me, I don't
    see where it tells how to Slave a channel ?

    Bob

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    919
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    Page 45 of the manual. The original 72 mhz 7C did not have this option and if you did a p-mix, the aux elevator channel would not trim with
    the elevator trim switch, that is why they added ailevator to the 2.4 system
    Chris Murphy

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hemderson, NV
    Posts
    13,511
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question


    ORIGINAL: overbored77

    Page 45 of the manual. The original 72 mhz 7C did not have this option and if you did a p-mix, the aux elevator channel would not trim with
    the elevator trim switch, that is why they added ailevator to the 2.4 system
    Nice thing to know. I haven't fooled with the 2.4 7 and I knew trhe reversing Y was what was used with the 72. Thanks for the input. My day is complete, I learned something!!!
    Drinking and driving are illegal, why do bars have parking lots
    Daisy Air Guns, keeping kids off your lawn for 100 years

  7. #7
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    7,020
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    You can flip the servo horn so the control rod is on the opposite side as well.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    919
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    Gray, that is the single reason I moved to the 9C. I did however setup my old 7C in my buddys 50cc Yak with a smart fly EQ2 and it worked
    perfect.

    Joe, it all depends on the plane setup, if you are using dual elevator servos you will usually end up with a geometry issue, with horns opposing
    each other. Still flying competitions?? I am probably going to fly some intermediate this year.
    Chris Murphy

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question


    ORIGINAL: gaRCfield

    You can flip the servo horn so the control rod is on the opposite side as well.


    I was thinking that too. Thanks.

    I'll read page 45 later and see what I can figure out too.

    Thanks guys for all of ya'lls input,

    Bob

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question




    Not sure which channel the second elev. servo
    plugs into ????
    Page 45 does not mention ie either ??

    Bob

  11. #11
    JohnBuckner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Kingman, AZ
    Posts
    9,384
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    You can use reversed horns on dual elevator servos and avoid the use of reversing Y's with absolutely no geometry problems I have done many setups like that.

    But you must raise or lower one servo so the pushrods are paralell and the horn angles are the same on both sides. Very easy to do if you are building the airplane. Problem is ARF's seldom provide offset fuse mounted elevator servos positions to allow for this.

    John
    \"Keep your controllines tight\"

  12. #12
    Moderator BarracudaHockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    19,561
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    You have a radio that does it for you, and thats the best option you have available to you.

    As for the second elevator servo, enable the function and then go to the monitor screen and wiggle the stick
    Andy - Helicopter Forum Moderator
    AMA 77227 Leader Member- Contest Director
    www.JaxRC.com

  13. #13
    speedracerntrixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    4,485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    If you do not have a TX that supports dual elevators, the best way Ihave found to do this is with a Smarf Fly Equalizer. It will hook up the same as a Y connector but allows you to reverse a servo and has adjustments for center and end points.


    http://www.smart-fly.com/products/Eq.../equalizer.htm
    Of course it's true, I read it on the Internet.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    919
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    Looks to me like futaba forgot to include the where to plug in part out of the manual. It will be either 5,6,7.
    On my 9c I use 6 for aux elevator, 7 for aux aileron. the 7c uses a 6 as a default for aileron so I would look at
    5, 7. after activating the mix, and setting ailerons to 0, plug into either 5, or 7 and move the elevator stick.

    After a bit of searching it looks like the default channels are 1,6 for ailerons, 2,5 for elevators.
    Chris Murphy

  15. #15
    Moderator BarracudaHockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    19,561
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question


    ORIGINAL: speedracerntrixie

    If you do not have a TX that supports dual elevators, the best way IĀ*have found to do this is with a Smarf Fly Equalizer. It will hook up the same as a Y connector but allows you to reverse a servo and has adjustments for center and end points.


    http://www.smart-fly.com/products/Eq.../equalizer.htm
    It's been pretty well covered that he DOES have a transmitter that will do exactly what he wants
    Andy - Helicopter Forum Moderator
    AMA 77227 Leader Member- Contest Director
    www.JaxRC.com

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question




    Thanks guys,

    I'll give it another try.

    Bob

  17. #17
    speedracerntrixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    4,485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    Yes but others may still benifit from the info..................we are trying to assist and promote the sport for everyone right?
    Of course it's true, I read it on the Internet.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question




    No Joy,

    Tried channels 5,6,&7
    Ail=inh
    1=0
    2=0

    ele=
    3=+100
    4=+100

    Changing 3 or 4 to -100 has no effect either.

    What am I missing here???

    Bob

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question





    Update

    Got It !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    changed
    ail =inh to ON !!!!!!

    2nd elev. servo into channel 5
    and reversed the travel and we have JOY.

    Still have to adjust the travel but hey, down here from.

    Thank you to all who gave their Input !!!!!!!!!!

    Bob

  20. #20
    Moderator BarracudaHockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    19,561
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question


    ORIGINAL: speedracerntrixie

    Yes but others may still benifit from the info..................we are trying to assist and promote the sport for everyone right?
    Fair point.

    I will say that I see a lot of posts from people recommending things that just make installations more complicated than they need to be. IMO mixing boxes, reversing Y's, 16 batteries per plane, etc, should be avoided if they arent appropriate or necessary for the installation. Just my .02, it was nothing personal, you're certainly correct, there's more than one "right" way to do things.
    Andy - Helicopter Forum Moderator
    AMA 77227 Leader Member- Contest Director
    www.JaxRC.com

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Rock Hill, SC
    Posts
    85
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    One other option is to use a Futaba servo on one side and a HiTec servo on the other. You can then use a regular Y-harness.

    Superfli

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    massapequa , NY
    Posts
    64
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    Hi Guys, If you go to the Futaba web site,under search FAQ, You will probably find it thereI have done it with my futaba 9C using a 7 channel receiver using a pmix,and you can reverse the servos independently so they go in the right direction,+or - 100%. If your not sure []copy your model to a second model,Say model 10,and experiment with that second model so in case you screw up the original model is still there,and you can delete the screwed up model under parameters. If it is good just add the name and your done.I hope that helps you out,Bye ED

  23. #23

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question




    I'll refer to post # 19


    Bob

  24. #24
    speedracerntrixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    4,485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question


    ORIGINAL: superfli

    One other option is to use a Futaba servo on one side and a HiTec servo on the other. You can then use a regular Y-harness.

    Superfli

    It's difficult to get two servos of the same brand and model number to track let alone 2 different brands. Back in the day we used to open the servo and reverse it ourselves. Just about all 6 channel and higher radios now support dual elevator servos now so this really shouldn't be an issue. For those who don't have a TX with the capability then the Smart Fly Equalizer is the way to go. My opinion of course. As BH said..........more then one way to get the job done.

    Of course it's true, I read it on the Internet.

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    919
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: twin elevator servo question

    Nice to hear it's setup dignlvn. now onto the mechanical (geomtry) adjustments, then sub trim, then endpoints. by the way what kind of plane
    are we working on? pics would be nice I love to see other peoples planes.

    Soory, just read it was a sig extra 1.2
    Chris Murphy


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:52 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.