Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

dual ele. servos

Reply
Old 10-16-2012, 05:52 AM
  #1
kitman09
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Greenbrier, TN
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default dual ele. servos

hi, wanting to know how and if, you can use dual elevator servos with a futaba t6exa radio, with out using a reverser. dont have room to flip a servo, put servos in the tail of a dynaflite pt 19 with a zenoah g23 in the nose. thanks.
kitman09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:54 AM
  #2
MetallicaJunkie
 
MetallicaJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Donna, TX
Posts: 5,429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

you can, but you wont be able to trim both servos...

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_13...tm.htm#1373454
MetallicaJunkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:14 AM
  #3
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,800
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

You don't need to flip the servos you need to flip the servo arms....if your servos are mounted flat in the wing, then the arms need to face each other or away from each other. If your servos are on their sides then you need to have the output shafts face each other or away from each other.
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:06 AM
  #4
jester_s1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,082
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

You can reverse the servo by desoldering both wires going to the servo motor and flipping them. That said, I would think you'd have a hard time getting the servos set up properly to be centered right and also get the throws even up and down.
jester_s1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:32 AM
  #5
kitman09
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Greenbrier, TN
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

both servos are up against the bottom of the stabelizer, therefore i cant swap one of the arms to the other side of the servo, guess i will buy a reverser.
kitman09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 08:01 AM
  #6
dignlivn
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos





Can you slave channel 5 or 6 to channel 2 ????

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 08:26 AM
  #7
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,368
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

Can you take the control rod on one side and drop or raise it. Just by taking the rod from the lower half of the control arm and placing it into the upper half of the arm changes the direction of the throw. I'm not up on your RX but slaving it as Bob mentioned should do the trick. I use Ch. 5 as the slave quite often.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 09:16 AM
  #8
dignlivn
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Deland, FL
Posts: 1,993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos







I believe page 19 of the manual tells about Slaving a channel.

Bob
dignlivn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 10:45 AM
  #9
rlipsett
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hingham, MA
Posts: 731
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

and now for something completly different. you can get some hi tech programmable servos. the servos rotation direction can be changed. the center point can be programmed into each to match. endpoints can be programmed to match. then servos can be be hooked into a y harness and connected too the same channel. since they are programmed for the same points they should be matched. the programmer is 20 dollars which you plug into a computer. I have found that when you set endpoints it is settings endpoints at 140% position
rlipsett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 05:21 PM
  #10
pkoury
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Picayune, MS
Posts: 333
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jester_s1

You can reverse the servo by desoldering both wires going to the servo motor and flipping them. That said, I would think you'd have a hard time getting the servos set up properly to be centered right and also get the throws even up and down.
Not so simple. You also need to switch the wires on the pot, not easy to do with the modern servos. Just switching the motor wires will not work.
pkoury is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 07:13 AM
  #11
kitman09
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Greenbrier, TN
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

thanks for the help, was able to use program mix, and mix channel 6 to channel 2. i guess its like the old saying, IF ALL ELSE FAILS READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. now for the final sanding and start covering this dynaflite pt-19. 89in wing and zenoah g-23 gasser. should be nice flyer.
kitman09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 10:03 AM
  #12
dant-RCU
 
dant-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 803
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

Good - but reread Post #2.

Dan
dant-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 07:45 PM
  #13
kitman09
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Greenbrier, TN
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

thanks for the heads up, looks like i will be getting a reverser. want to do it the right way. got alot of time in this plane, gona cover it in 100% polyester dress lining, and polycrylic. and paint it with house latex.



kitman09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 07:20 AM
  #14
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,368
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

Your going to love the plane!! It's one of the most popular first time Giant scales for a lot of people and you have a good choice of engines for it too. It was one of the first really big planes I flew. I was surprised at how much easier it was to fly then a small plane. Your going to love it. If you don't want to use the reverser then just set it up, fly the plane, then when you land you can manually adjust the one half of the elevator to match the one that trims. The plane isn't going to crash if one side is a bit out of adjustment. I have broken a couple of elevator control horns and clevises and the plane still flew well, just acted sluggish in the air. Another reason to have two elevator halves.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:51 AM
  #15
kitman09
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Greenbrier, TN
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

thanks gray beard, allready ordered the reverser, so i guess ill go that way. this will be my first giant scale plane to fly. got a wendell hostettler cesna 150 about 75% done. its a monster. lol
kitman09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:25 AM
  #16
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,368
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: dual ele. servos

You picked a good one for a first giant. I know pilots that have been flying giant scale for decades and still prefer flying there PTs. Very smooth plane. Go to any IMAA event and you will see at least one. It's as popular today as when it was first designed.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:58 AM.