Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Titebond glue

Reply
Old 11-04-2012, 10:30 AM
  #1
maxwell 1
Thread Starter
 
maxwell 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Titebond glue

Has anybody used this type of glue to build wings?????????? thanx MAX
maxwell 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:48 AM
  #2
tschuy
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SeaTac - Angle Lake, WA
Posts: 1,057
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I've used it a lot with building my wings. I'll us CA to glue ribs to spars and the leading edge (saves time). But will use Titebond for the shear webs and gluing on the sheeting. It allows a builder the time to place, pin, tape or use weight to hold the pieces together before the glue dries. Arguably it is a stronger bond then CA (not as brittle). For strength/high stress areas (like joining the wing panels together) one cannot bet the strength of epoxy.

this is what I've done for many years of modeling and have of yet to experience a wing failure.
tschuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:52 AM
  #3
mikegordon10
 
mikegordon10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 988
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

Yep, I do
mikegordon10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:53 AM
  #4
JollyPopper
 
JollyPopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mountain Home, AR
Posts: 2,585
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

tschuy us right on. There are several kinds of glues to be used in model building and each has its express puropses, but for gluing wing components together, Titebond is as good as any and better than most.
JollyPopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:01 AM
  #5
biam
 
biam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: desloge, MO
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

Tite bond is all I use, went to it too get away from the C.A. fumes.[:@] I only use C.A. when I have too.
biam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:02 PM
  #6
maxwell 1
Thread Starter
 
maxwell 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

Do you use type II or III thanx Max
maxwell 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:23 PM
  #7
JL1
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

If you don't already know it, here is a little trick for titebond that I use on occasion. paint a layer on two opposing surfaces of wood (thin sections of wood) and let them dry. Then, using an iron (monocote iron works) on a high setting, iron the two surfaces together. They will bond from the heat. I use this fairly often to glue wing sheeting onto ribs and such. EXPERIMENT FIRST!
JL1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 01:34 PM
  #8
red head
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Zephyrhills, FL
Posts: 2,018
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

Other than ca's I usually spread a thin layer of glue on each piece, then put them togeather for a second, pull them apart then put them back togeather. ( if it's conveient ).
By doing this it pushes out most of the air holes you get by just putting them togeather.. I learned this while selling and working with lumber yards, specialitiy shops and model kit mfg's . ENJOY !!! RED
red head is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:16 PM
  #9
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I use it for a number of things. I still use more CA then anything but I keep about 6 different types of glue on my bench most the time. I fill a small bottle with the TB glues from a gallon jug at my wood workers club, type II or III, doesn't mater to me for models but as I recall the type III is more water repellent.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:44 PM
  #10
Rodney
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I use Titebond almost exclusively for my balsa models, most of which are quite large. I've use all three types with success but slightly prefer type II although type III is also good. The original is great unless you are going to have a lot of moisture in or on the structure at some time. Type II sands a bit easier than type III. I've also had good luck with Elmers Carpenters Glue.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 02:45 PM
  #11
crossman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 534
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I use Titebond II for probably 90% of my construction, No fumes and a whole lot cheaper than CA. I use a couple of these to put it where I want it.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGGG7&P=7

And spread it with old gift cards.
crossman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 03:09 PM
  #12
5skyhawk172
 
5skyhawk172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 165
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I built a Sterling Ringmaster with it back in 1968.  Still use it today.
5skyhawk172 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:13 PM
  #13
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I just finished sheeting the second side of a stab with it, side A I used CA.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:06 PM
  #14
DavidAgar
 
DavidAgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 4,984
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I have been using it for years for and still do to this day. The other up side to it is that you can go to The Home Depot and get a huge bottle of it for about 4 bucks. Good Luck, Dave
DavidAgar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 06:49 PM
  #15
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 6,587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

Yep, I tack the ribs and spars with thin CA, then hit all the joints with Titebond and a syringe, and then takce on the rest of the parts with thin CA and do the same with them. Same with the Fuse, tack with CA and finish glue with TB. Strong structure when dried. If you are in a hurry though......
acdii is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:12 PM
  #16
acerc
 
acerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Sunshine state, when it's not raining!
Posts: 8,108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I use Titebond II mostly as well. And I also use the afore mentioned heat method for sheeting or where I want a quicker drying time. I just finished an entire wing by laying it all up, useing magnet's, and the preglueing wait five minute's then hit with the heat gun. Total time to glue once layed up is about ten minutes.
acerc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:56 AM
  #17
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

Quote:
ORIGINAL: acdii

Yep, I tack the ribs and spars with thin CA, then hit all the joints with Titebond and a syringe, and then takce on the rest of the parts with thin CA and do the same with them. Same with the Fuse, tack with CA and finish glue with TB. Strong structure when dried. If you are in a hurry though......
Are you implying that the Titebond wicks like CA ? Or does it just sit on top, providing a surface bond ?
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:31 AM
  #18
airega1
 
airega1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue


Quote:
ORIGINAL: maxwell 1

Has anybody used this type of glue to build wings?????????? thanx MAX
Great stuff, a bit on the heavy side but well worth the use.
airega1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:45 AM
  #19
RCFlyerDan
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

Used to be all we used prior to CA
RCFlyerDan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:48 AM
  #20
OldScaleGuy
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,792
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I use Titebond as much as possible. Still use CA and epoxy occasionally. Once Titebond dries the weight difference is minimal. I transfer the Titebond from the large container to a smaller container that used to have Formula 56 in it.
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:53 AM
  #21
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RCFlyerDan

Used to be all we used prior to CA
I used Ambroids and Testors glue. Even as a kid in the 50s I didn't care much for glues like Elmer's. I do get the CA reaction if I use it too much but I have gotten warps using the wood glues that are water based. I could never build a plane completely with wood glue. My hats off to those that can.
I still have a tube of Sigment on my bench but it sure doesn't hold like it used to? I was told the new Sigment and Ambroids had one of there main ingredients removed from them? Something to do with dumbasses sniffing the stuff?? What ever they have done it still takes all night to set up and doesn't hold very well at all.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:53 AM
  #22
Rodney
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I used many a tube of ambroid and Testors cement some 50/60 years ago. I never did find it as being very strong. I do remember that it would make a pretty brittle joint that did not stand up well to shock loads and, if you did not precoat the joints, it was really a weak structure. All the new glues are many times better and stronger than those old ones were. The only thing good about those old glues was the vapors and smell, if you were not careful you could get a pretty good high off them.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:18 PM
  #23
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I don't recall ever pre coating the parts with the Ambroids, then again, I don't recall what I had for lunch yesterday either. I do know that this new tube of Sigment I have is about useless though. I just came in for lunch and I'm letting the TB III set up so I can start sanding. That reminds me, sanding CA is almost a useless endeavor but TB sands very well, another plus in it's favor.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:43 PM
  #24
da Rock
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,460
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue

I do remember double gluing with Ambroid. And I don't always remember what I had for lunch TODAY. I never used Sigment. That I remember I think...

I've used Elmers and Titebond forever. Before CA came along, I'd thin some titebond with pure water to put together a wing in a night. It seemed to need the thinning to be easier to use. A small paintbrush made it work. It was quicker to apply and was easier to get the right amount in the right place. CA doesn't bother me unless I get too much in one place, and I love the way the stuff works.

And of course, nowadays I don't do any scratch building. I still got the drawing board and pens, but just don't have the contests to go to anymore. They were the inspiration for the new designs.

Any aliphatic glue does good. CA does too. We got the best of both worlds.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:09 PM
  #25
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Titebond glue


Quote:
ORIGINAL: da Rock

I do remember double gluing with Ambroid. And I don't always remember what I had for lunch TODAY. I never used Sigment. That I remember I think...

I've used Elmers and Titebond forever. Before CA came along, I'd thin some titebond with pure water to put together a wing in a night. It seemed to need the thinning to be easier to use. A small paintbrush made it work. It was quicker to apply and was easier to get the right amount in the right place. CA doesn't bother me unless I get too much in one place, and I love the way the stuff works.

And of course, nowadays I don't do any scratch building. I still got the drawing board and pens, but just don't have the contests to go to anymore. They were the inspiration for the new designs.

Any aliphatic glue does good. CA does too. We got the best of both worlds.
You may confuse people with the term scratch building, it's now used often when plans building.
A scratch builder draws there own designs and plans then cuts there parts themselves, a plans builder buys the plans and cuts there own kit from the templates drawn on the plans and builds the plane. Kit builders buy a pre cut kit and build the pre cut parts.
Then you have the ARFers that glue all the pre built and covered pieces together. Assembling!
I use the term plans builder myself, I haven't designed and built my own sense 1963. Plans are much easier for me these days. I no longer have my drafting board or machine and have never been able to figure out how to use a CAD on a computer. I'm lucky to have figured out email.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:10 AM.