Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Elberton, GA
    Posts
    196
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Carb (throttle) Horn

    I have a old Thunder engine .61 that has a OS carb on it that is missing a control arm.I can find newcarbs but noarms. Canone converta control surface arm to go on the carb. This one is held in place with ascrew. Seems like you could drill aarm and put it on.Whatwouldyou suggest? I could just get a new carb but that 50.00 gphil

  2. #2
    Moderator da Rock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Pfafftown NC
    Posts
    11,219

    RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

    The carbs that are in production have those arms available for a couple of dollars. Tower Hobbies
    Good flying wit ya today

  3. #3
    Moderator da Rock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Pfafftown NC
    Posts
    11,219

    RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

    Can you upload a picture of the carb?

    Since you bought the OS carb, do you know the part number for the carb? Tower will list the carb and it's parts.
    Good flying wit ya today

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Elberton, GA
    Posts
    196
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

    Carb came on engine and old style I assume.   No back angle on needle.   No #  jus says "made in japan"  I was thinking maybe a servo arm???

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH,
    Posts
    808
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

    You can use any arm that you can modify to fit. Been there, done that.
    Chuck

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hemderson, NV
    Posts
    13,442
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

    If the screw is in the center then most any arm will work. I use a lot of the arms that you find on the LA series of engines. I even use them on YS engines. My LHS usually has them in stock, they are about 2 bucks.
    Drinking and driving are illegal, why do bars have parking lots
    Daisy Air Guns, keeping kids off your lawn for 100 years

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Aurora, CO
    Posts
    1,222
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

    I have used a nylon futaba servo arm on an OS 1.40RX for years. Works perfect.

    Kurt

  8. #8
    JohnBuckner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Kingman, AZ
    Posts
    9,359
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

    Have used so many servo arms on that type of carb you tend to loose count or is it perhaps because every time one is broken its usually because I just crashed

    John
    \"Keep your controllines tight\"

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Utica, NY
    Posts
    58
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

    My vote is for the servo arm I have seen it done many times and have used it myself a few times as well.. Not much stress on a throttle arm, or atleast there shouldnt be haha.
    Good luck
    -Steve E


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.