Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Carb (throttle) Horn

Reply
Old 11-13-2012, 08:20 AM
  #1
gphil
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Elberton, GA
Posts: 215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Carb (throttle) Horn

I have a old Thunder engine .61 that has a OS carb on it that is missing a control arm.I can find newcarbs but noarms. Canone converta control surface arm to go on the carb. This one is held in place with ascrew. Seems like you could drill aarm and put it on.Whatwouldyou suggest? I could just get a new carb but that 50.00 gphil
gphil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:54 AM
  #2
da Rock
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,460
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

The carbs that are in production have those arms available for a couple of dollars. Tower Hobbies
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:57 AM
  #3
da Rock
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,460
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

Can you upload a picture of the carb?

Since you bought the OS carb, do you know the part number for the carb? Tower will list the carb and it's parts.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:06 AM
  #4
gphil
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Elberton, GA
Posts: 215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

Carb came on engine and old style I assume.   No back angle on needle.   No #  jus says "made in japan"  I was thinking maybe a servo arm???
gphil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:59 AM
  #5
R8893
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH,
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

You can use any arm that you can modify to fit. Been there, done that.
Chuck
R8893 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:41 AM
  #6
Gray Beard
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,377
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

If the screw is in the center then most any arm will work. I use a lot of the arms that you find on the LA series of engines. I even use them on YS engines. My LHS usually has them in stock, they are about 2 bucks.
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:28 PM
  #7
Bozarth
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,283
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

I have used a nylon futaba servo arm on an OS 1.40RX for years. Works perfect.

Kurt
Bozarth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:36 PM
  #8
JohnBuckner
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

Have used so many servo arms on that type of carb you tend to loose count or is it perhaps because every time one is broken its usually because I just crashed

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:37 PM
  #9
AdamsBro
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Utica, NY
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Carb (throttle) Horn

My vote is for the servo arm I have seen it done many times and have used it myself a few times as well.. Not much stress on a throttle arm, or atleast there shouldnt be haha.
Good luck
-Steve E
AdamsBro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:37 PM.