Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

CARF-Models worth the extra money?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

CARF-Models worth the extra money?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2013, 09:21 PM
RichardGee
My Feedback: (156)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default CARF-Models worth the extra money?

As I was waxing the stabs of my CARF-Models 3 meter Yak 55, I reflected on a recent blurb by a CARF Sales Rep in which he was contrasting the true value of a CARF against similar ARFs made of wood and plastic film.

This is my 6th CARF aircraft, although I have been building model aircraft for over 40 years, mostly from balsa and ply. I have built dozens of planes; everything from Cox TD .010 powered single channel flyers, to fully scaled and detailed quarter scale aircraft with gas and glow, single and multi-cylinder engines.
During the last 8 years while building 6 state-of-the-art CARF aircraft, I also built a Bud Nosen Gere Sport biplane and a Top Flight Taurus… it doesn’t get anymore ‘old school’ than that! [8D]Unrolling a fresh set of plans and gluing sticks together offers a certain satisfaction that no other aspect of the hobby can satisfy.

But if you are looking for a quality ARF that has the potential to last as long as you do… you simply cannot do better than a composite airframe. In my experience, they are ALWAYS straighter and stiffer than wood or foam ARFs. They are stronger. And believe it or not, they are usually also lighter -
Case in point, my CARF-Models 2.1M Yak 55, w/DA50 and canister exhaust, and top of the line servos and electronics, tipped the scales at 16.4 lbs. ready to fly. Another modeler at my field had a typical (cheap) wood and plastic ARF 50cc Yak 54 w/stock exhaust. His plane was a few inches larger than mine, BUT it weighed a whopping 23 pounds!