Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Foam core wing repair

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Foam core wing repair

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2013, 02:10 PM
rt3232
My Feedback: (6)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Foam core wing repair

Hi all

I have a ding in a foam cored wing covered with 3/32 balsa, the ding is about 2 inches long 1/2 to 3/4 wide and about 1/2 deep. so if I cut a section of wood out, do I need to fill the foam and with what ? putting in the wood patch is no problem and will cover with a f/s patch befor recovering with plastic

this is my first time arround on this type of wing patch So all help and suggestions are appericated

Cheers Bob T

AMA13377
Old 07-10-2013, 04:03 PM
sensei

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: Foam core wing repair

Layout a square pattern around the damaged area about 1/2" beyond the damaged foam, cut the balsa on your layout, and carefully remove the balsa from the foam core. Now tailor cut a virgin piece 1/8" thick balsa that fits inside your cutout, use Gorilla glue and brush into the damaged area and the surrounding foam that you removed the balsa from. Lightly spray the area with water and place the 1/8" thick balsa skin over the area, immediately cover with a generous piece of Handy Wrap, place 6 or 8 model magazines on each side of your wing while laying horizontal on a flat surface and gently place anything weighing around 25 pounds directly over the repair area. Allow full cure, remove weight, magazines, and Handy Wrap, spline sand area and recover.

There is another effective way to do this utilizing a vacuum bag and caul plate but you stated that this was your first repair and I am thinking that you may not possess a vacuum pump and all the rest of the garbage needed to perform this simple repair by the means I already explained. Best of luck to you.

Bob
Old 07-10-2013, 04:32 PM