Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

C.g. Help!

Old 09-19-2013, 09:04 AM
georgiateddy
My Feedback: (11)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C.g. Help!

Im new to the hobby but have successfully cg'd several planes I built and they fly well. I have a discontinued Waco SRE 60 stagger wing that has already been completed but never flown due to my skills. Last night the final touches were in place and I pulled the manual from Sig Planes to obtain cg criteria.

The cg recommended by Sig is 4 3/8 inch back from top wing face next to fusalage. I tripple checked my points. Finally 2 pounds and one ounce later it leveled. The weights were inside the forward cabin area so moving them to the engine compartment will drop several ounces......but that not much.

Sig's test model Waco SRE utilized the same engine I have mounted which is a Saito 100. Sig's testing and cg conslusion remarks were......... "no additional weight was needed to satisfy CG"

Boy I am in trouble. Sig used 0 ounces and Im at 33 ounces. Maybe Im over worried about the 2 pounds but It seems like a lot of weight to add

HELP !

Teddy
Old 09-19-2013, 10:53 AM
sensei

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

I am probably the worst person to reply to this question because I am a super weight freak from way back, anyway what is your wing span, total wing area, and all up weight ballast included?

Bob
Old 09-19-2013, 11:21 AM
georgiateddy

Bob,
69.5 756 sq inches
fly weight prediction from factory is 9.5-10 lbs
Old 09-19-2013, 11:39 AM
Top_Gunn
My Feedback: (6)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

It's not as if you have a choice, short of rebuilding it and making the parts in back lighter. (This assumes you have things like the battery pack and servos as far forward as you can reasonably get them). You can't just decide that weight is more important than CG location.
Old 09-19-2013, 11:57 AM
georgiateddy

Al,