Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Pattern vs. sport propellers

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Pattern vs. sport propellers

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2013, 06:59 AM
RANGER61

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Pattern vs. sport propellers

Hello Everybody, I am fairly new to the hobby...3 yrs. I just bought my third plane. It's the Escapade 61. I also bought a O.S.fs 120 se to power it. The manual says 13x11-12,14x10,11 15x8 and a 16x6-7. After some research here on RCU I have seen a lean towards a 15x8 for breaking in the engine (which I have not done yet). the problem that I have run into is APC The props I use....only come in a 15x8 pattern prop. What's the difference between the sport prop and the pattern prop?
Any one who could please answer the for me I would be very thankful. I am about to order from Tower hobbies and I really don't want to make the wrong choice( also since I will buying a handful of them. My two other planes are the Avistar 46 with a O.S. 46ax..with flaps....sweet. and also a Pulse xt 60 with a O.S. 75ax. It has been my favorite plane. But Iam sure my new escapade with my new o.s. 120 strokes will be a blast too.
Thanks for any thoughts and explanations on the issue

Ranger 61

nn
Old 12-28-2013, 08:04 AM
mvallyman
My Feedback: (32)

I have always used APC props and ran into the same issue you have found being its the only one they offer in certain sizes. Sometimes I noticed the shape of the blade a little different on the pattern prop but found no difference or any suprizes using them. I just learned to ignore the word "pattern" and bought the prop for the size I wanted.
Old 12-28-2013, 11:02 AM
RANGER61

Originally Posted by mvallyman