Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Saito 125a

Reply

Old 02-24-2014, 01:32 PM
  #1  
FLAPHappy
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (209)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: right here
Posts: 867
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Saito 125a

I have a CMP corsair, that weights 12.5 LBS. Will a Saito 125 engine be sufficent for this plane?
FLAPHappy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 03:14 PM
  #2  
rgm762
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: KS
Posts: 1,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I hope so, that's what I planning on using in mine, you can read through this thread, I know there are other people using the 125a
CMPro F4u Corsair
rgm762 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 04:04 PM
  #3  
FLAPHappy
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (209)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: right here
Posts: 867
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ray, I was concerned about the weight of the plane. Will a Saito 125a fly it at 12.5 LBS? I don't know the specifics on how heavy a plane the 125a will handle.
FLAPHappy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 04:18 PM
  #4  
SrTelemaster150
 
SrTelemaster150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Posts: 3,902
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

My Saito FA150 flew a 16# Dyna Flite PT-19 W/plenty of power. It was CDI fired, but that only adds a slight power gain.

If you are able to keep the AUW to 12 1/2# I think you'll be OK.
SrTelemaster150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 05:04 PM
  #5  
rgm762
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: KS
Posts: 1,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

FlapHappy; according to the guys in the thread, a 120 flies the plane just fine, their saying "scale like" and their using magnums, os's and saito's. depending on how you want to fly, the 125 will work fine just won't be able to hang It on the prop
rgm762 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 05:09 PM
  #6  
rgm762
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: KS
Posts: 1,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

and in the for what it's worth dept, I fly a 15lbs GP 120 stearman with a magnum 120 without out any problems
rgm762 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service