Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Battery Question

Reply

Old 04-05-2014, 06:49 PM
  #1  
ITS25
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Question

I have a 1300 Li-po battery and I'm looking for a 1200 Li-po and can't find any anywhere. So, will a 1300 work? Or will it kill the aircraft?
ITS25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 07:04 PM
  #2  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,845
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm going to assume this is the motor battery in an electric airplane? As long as it is the correct voltage, won't change the CG too much and will physically fit you will be good to go and will have slightly longer run times.
speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 04:18 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Exactly

Though I can't imagine you can't find a 1200mah battery at Hobby King
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 06:09 AM
  #4  
FLAPHappy
My Feedback: (209)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: right here
Posts: 867
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Check out this link: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...rch=1200%20mah
FLAPHappy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 11:21 PM
  #5  
Donwebster
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It will be better, if you can state how many cells of the lipo do you want: 1S, 2S, 3S, or more?
Donwebster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 04:59 AM
  #6  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The milliampere hour rating of your battery is sorta like the gallons in a fuel tank. The more there is the less often you have to fill up ( charge).
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 06:33 AM
  #7  
Stick 40
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: quincy, MI
Posts: 1,205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by jetmech05 View Post
The milliampere hour rating of your battery is sorta like the gallons in a fuel tank. The more there is the less often you have to fill up ( charge).
You can also get a longer run time with the 1300, but try and stay about the 3.7 volte's per cell. Balance would only be an issue if the battery was behind the center of gravity and you are close to tail heavy to start with.
good luck, good to ask these question ahead of time. I have let the smoke out of stuff and it can be costly.

sticks
Stick 40 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service