Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Assistance required

Reply

Old 04-24-2014, 12:50 PM
  #1  
ButteredCat
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Purmerend, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Assistance required

I have an old depron profile biplane that I'd like to experiment with. I want to dispense with the ailerons on the top wing and use them as flaps mixed in with the elevator. But I'm struggling to set it up on my transmitter.
I have a DX7 (old version) and I'm using an Orange receiver.
If anyone could help me out here it would be greatly appreciated!
ButteredCat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 03:32 PM
  #2  
tacx
My Feedback: (1)
 
tacx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: washington twp., MI
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Depends on your servo set up. You didn't tell us how the ailerons are set up now.

One servo for everything?

Dual servos in the bottom wing with control arms to the upper aileron?

Separate servos for all four ailerons?

Once we know it should be easy to explain.
tacx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 06:45 AM
  #3  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'd think you'd want flaps on the bottom wing ailerons on top remember that dedicated flaps on a set of wings will reduce aileron authority that cannot or may not be compensated for by more aileron throw
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 12:19 PM
  #4  
ButteredCat
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Purmerend, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Tacx,
For the wings I have four servos. Those on the lower wing are irrelevant as they control only the ailerons through a Y lead.
Those on the top wing are not positioned in a mirror fashion, they are positioned with the arms on the same side to ensure they move in the same direction. They are then connected through a Y lead.
What I'm trying to do is have 'up' elevator and 'down' flap together on the elevator stick.



Jetmech,
You may well be right but I want to use this model to experiment. Maybe I'll try your suggestion next.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	UltimateG.gif
Views:	19
Size:	75.8 KB
ID:	1991155  
ButteredCat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 03:35 AM
  #5  
tacx
My Feedback: (1)
 
tacx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: washington twp., MI
Posts: 890
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sounds like all you have to do is plug the flap servos Y harness into the gear or Aux-1 channels.
tacx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 12:45 PM
  #6  
ButteredCat
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Purmerend, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You were right. Strange, because that was the first thing I tried, but it didn't work. Don't know what I did wrong.

But it works now! :-)
ButteredCat is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service