Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

PROBLEM with my DA-50!!

Reply

Old 04-26-2014, 03:14 PM
  #1  
sylo26
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Valdor, QC, CHAD
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default PROBLEM with my DA-50!!

Guys I can't beleive! I rebuilt my carb, change gaz tube, change gaz, try to adjust needles many differents way etc etc.... And my DA still have the same problem, he start well , have a good idle. But when I push the throtle he goes well for maybe 15 secondes and after go down slowly and want to die. If I try to push the throtle again he want to die but if I wait 1 minute and push he goes very well and go down again and die. I tried to open or close the high needle and samething for the low one and it doesn't resolve the issue!! Somebody have and idea about what happen with my precious DA ? Thanks! Paul
sylo26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 05:06 PM
  #2  
rt3232
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,953
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi sylo26

To give you a good answer to your question more info. What prompted the carb rebuild ? details on the use of the engine ? things like that.

I don't have a DA engine but there could be several things going on Timing hidden dirt in the carb orfices's just for starters.


Cheers Bob T
AMA13377
rt3232 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 05:15 PM
  #3  
sylo26
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Valdor, QC, CHAD
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I bought the kit to change gaskets etc in my carb as I usual do with my others gaz engines. When I done it I put air pression in the differents holes too. I have 6 airplanes so this motor have 8 years but never ran a lot...
sylo26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 05:29 PM
  #4  
invertmast
My Feedback: (22)
 
invertmast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Port, Fl
Posts: 7,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Did you get the pump level settings correct? It sounds like the pump isnt pumping enough fuel
invertmast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 06:12 PM
  #5  
rt3232
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,953
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

+1 on the above and check timming
rt3232 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 08:14 PM
  #6  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Check anything that could make the engine run hot. If you recently had a prop strike it could have cracked the prop hub and caused a shift in timing. I have also seen ignition modules fail where they would work but would not advance the timing. The result is a hot running engine no matter what you do with the needle settings. I would set the needles back to factory. Approx 1 1/2 turns out on high and 1 turn out on low. Check the timing and if you can borrow one try a different ignition module.
speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 10:32 PM
  #7  
sylo26
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Valdor, QC, CHAD
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Invertmast.... Pump level setting ?
sylo26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 02:50 AM
  #8  
Steve Percifield
My Feedback: (14)
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It sounds like the new gasket from the carb to the engine is blocking the pressure hole from the engine block to the carb. Double check it's alignment.
Steve Percifield is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 05:29 AM
  #9  
sylo26
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Valdor, QC, CHAD
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Steve but the gasket is ok and my chainsaw dealer already check my carb....But I'll check if it's free in the tube who is between the carb and the block... But otherwise I'm pretty sure too that my engine run and come too hot. Could it be because the alignment really? I thing I'll try to borrow or buy another ignition module.
sylo26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 05:52 AM
  #10  
Hilton Lantz
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: coolidge, AZ
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

TRY cleaning reed valves
Hilton Lantz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 05:53 AM
  #11  
sylo26
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Valdor, QC, CHAD
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Oh! What is that ??
sylo26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 07:32 AM
  #12  
THERCAV8R
My Feedback: (283)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 186
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Check the reeds and the reed block. Located under the carb. look for cracks and chipped edges should be clean and straight. Also check that the fork is attached to the pump diafram so the pump works. If the engine was working before the rebuild it should work the same after the rebuild if it was done correctly. Also if it was running ok then it did not need rebuilding.
THERCAV8R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 07:35 AM
  #13  
Desertlakesflying
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,541
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Interesting how people want to know every detail of the incident when it is something like DA or some other name brand, but if it's not name brand it's just junk out of the gate.

Not even name brands hold up to some people.
Desertlakesflying is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 08:05 AM
  #14  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by THERCAV8R View Post
Check the reeds and the reed block. Located under the carb. look for cracks and chipped edges should be clean and straight. Also check that the fork is attached to the pump diafram so the pump works. If the engine was working before the rebuild it should work the same after the rebuild if it was done correctly. Also if it was running ok then it did not need rebuilding.
Chipped reeds would result in difficult starting, I have never seen a case of chipped reeds on the DA 50. Also the 50 carb does not have a forked metering needle actuator. I beleive the OP stated he rebuilt the carb after the issues developed. I'm sticking with an ignition related problem.

after reading the first post again, It could be a bad ignition battery.

Last edited by speedracerntrixie; 04-27-2014 at 08:08 AM.
speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 08:38 AM
  #15  
sylo26
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Valdor, QC, CHAD
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

To be clear, I rebuilted the carb because the issue. Also, it start well and the idle is well too. So I don't know if it could be the batterie; I recharge it for sure but I'll try another one. And try to find a 50cc ignition module , I just have an DLE30 module left.
sylo26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 08:59 AM
  #16  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The DLE module is not a direct drop in. It would require the DLE sensor and retiming. A battery can show good voltage with no load. At idle the ignition is drawing less current then at higher RPMs. At higher throttle settings the additional load can drop the battery voltage down if it has a bad cell. Try a different battery first and never put more then 5.5V into a DA ignition.
speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 09:36 AM
  #17  
2walla
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: walla walla, WA
Posts: 722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ignition syste is the problem... Everbody jumps on the carb before properly troubleshooting the problem.when you opend up the carb it everything was clean.. Probably? Check the switch, battery, wiring, but Most likely the ignition is bad. The wont last forever.

Last edited by 2walla; 04-27-2014 at 09:39 AM.
2walla is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 11:29 AM
  #18  
sylo26
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Valdor, QC, CHAD
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Another thing I checked and saw now is that , at the opposite of my others gaz engine, with my DA I don't have spark on my plug if I just turn smoothly,,, it need a good swing to have sparks.
sylo26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 12:00 PM
  #19  
Neverlost1
My Feedback: (1)
 
Neverlost1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Desertlakesflying View Post
Interesting how people want to know every detail of the incident when it is something like DA or some other name brand, but if it's not name brand it's just junk out of the gate.

Not even name brands hold up to some people.
You got that right. Just reverse the brand: "He should buy a DLE and throw that DA junk away".
Neverlost1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 01:53 PM
  #20  
Uncas
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Peters, MO,
Posts: 743
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Since you just rebuilt the carb, that is likely where the problem lies. How much is a new carb?
Uncas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 01:57 PM
  #21  
sylo26
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Valdor, QC, CHAD
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Another thing I checked and saw now is that , at the opposite of my others gaz engine, with my DA I don't have spark on my plug if I just turn smoothly,,, it need a good swing to have sparks.
sylo26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 02:53 PM
  #22  
Uncas
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: St. Peters, MO,
Posts: 743
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

"Unlike some ignitions, the Desert Aircraft ignition is designed to spark only when the prop is
flipped at a high speed. If the prop is not turned over at “starting” speed, the ignition will not
fire. This helps to prevent the motor from firing accidentally. Unless you are having
problems starting the motor, don’t bother “testing” the ignition with the plug removed from the
cylinder."

from my DA-50R manual.
Uncas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 03:24 PM
  #23  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The DA ignition needs 250 RPM to fire. The issue is ignition battery or the ignition advance circuit has died.
speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 04:30 PM
  #24  
blhollo2
My Feedback: (278)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: fuquay varina, NC
Posts: 821
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

stop messing with the engine and send it back to DA they have excellent customer service and be done with it.
blhollo2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 02:18 AM
  #25  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (52)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Why come on here and guess? Send it to DA! Their service speaks for itself! Dumb to come on here and get guesses!! DA only charges for parts and not labor!

Last edited by RCFlyerDan; 04-28-2014 at 02:20 AM.
RCFlyerDan is online now  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service