Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

DX6i transmitter and receiver question

Reply

Old 05-08-2014, 07:41 AM
  #1  
ITS25
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DX6i transmitter and receiver question

So I have the DX6i and I am looking at a 4 channel aircraft, now do I have to buy the 6 channel receiver? Or can I use the AR400 receiver? I really don't want to fork out a high cost in a receiver if the aircraft isn't going to use all the channels.
ITS25 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 07:57 AM
  #2  
macdona
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 260
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ITS25 View Post
So I have the DX6i and I am looking at a 4 channel aircraft, now do I have to buy the 6 channel receiver? Or can I use the AR400 receiver? I really don't want to fork out a high cost in a receiver if the aircraft isn't going to use all the channels.
I am using three of the 4 channels and they work just fine.
macdona is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:44 AM
  #3  
AMA 74894
Moderator
My Feedback: (1)
 
AMA 74894's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Spicer, MN
Posts: 1,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Exactly, the transmitter is capable of transmitting UP TO 6 channels.
you can use a four channel receiver for your 4 channel airplane.

IF you're flying a smallish airplane you can also use Orange or LemonRX receivers...
they (SIX channels) go for around ten bucks.
http://www.lemon-rx.com/shop/index.p...tegory&path=59
AMA 74894 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:58 AM
  #4  
DGrant
My Feedback: (4)
 
DGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 1,928
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

A receiver can go into many different planes.

Do you want to end up with a receiver that is only useable in a 4-channel plane? Or one that might be able to go into something more sophisticated/advanced at some point in the future?

Do you have any plans of getting a new transmitter in the future?... again just a thought.. spending a few more bucks today might save a few in the future.. A 4-ch. receiver limits any future projects.

Multi-channel receivers have several options. They allow for dual aileron servo mixing... which would include flaps, ailevators, elevons, spoilers, elev/flap mixing, and maybe a few more I'm forgetting.. Not all of the functions can be used at the same time on a DX6i... but every one of these can be used on any given model one function(maybe 2..) at a time... Its the receiver that would make that possible.

I don't think I'd even look at a 4ch.Rx with all the options that are available with a 6+ch Rx... and the mixing options are very important with giant-scale.. I have a 4-ch. aerobat.. using 9channel receiver... everything runs direct and mixes in the transmitter.. thats another story...

I don't know what the cost factor is going from 4ch rx to a 6ch.. but I do believe the value is priceless in this hobby. In any case, I'm sure you'll do fine and get just what you need... This is just my 2cents... I wish you well.
DGrant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:41 PM
  #5  
vasek
My Feedback: (4)
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by macdona View Post
I am using three of the 4 channels and they work just fine.
+1 I have many Orange Rx from HK and they all work perfect
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 06:35 AM
  #6  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I believe in getting the biggest you can afford that'll work for you . You can always put a 4 channel receiver in later, if you need the 6 channel in a different airplane
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service