Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Setting up Flaps for the first time.

Reply

Old 07-13-2014, 12:22 PM
  #1  
SigMan
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (21)
 
SigMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boonville, IN
Posts: 1,163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Setting up Flaps for the first time.

been trying for a couple weeks to figure this out and its getting frustrating. i have a FunCub and a DX8 radio. i have the settings for 1 aileron and 2 flaps. i did this so i would not have to flip the servo in the wing. i finally got both flaps to go up and down but one does it to the 3 point setting i selected and the other just up and down and its delayed.
SigMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 01:41 PM
  #2  
Stick 40
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: quincy, MI
Posts: 1,205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

what your saying , does not tell my what your trying to do.

Are you trying to make flaperons, that's using ailerons to use as flaps also?

Last edited by Stick 40; 07-16-2014 at 01:43 PM.
Stick 40 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 04:14 PM
  #3  
SigMan
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (21)
 
SigMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boonville, IN
Posts: 1,163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

no, just trying to set up flaps for the first time.
SigMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 03:56 AM
  #4  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,613
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Flaps usually go on channel six. On my transmitter they are assigned to a knob, and can be dialled in progressively.

In the old days, channel six was a 3 position switch, which provided no, 1/2, and full flap deployement.

Like Stick, I find your description to be vague.
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 06:13 AM
  #5  
Villa
Senior Member
 
Villa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC,
Posts: 2,057
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi SigMan
A friend of mine had a large Stuka plane with flaps. He lowered the flaps and landed. About an hour later he again took off, but he had forgotten that the flaps were still down. He took off, the plane went out of control and he totaled it. I have been flying models since 1972 and have never had a plane with flaps, since our models do not need them.
Villa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 11:56 AM
  #6  
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,088
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Oh heck. Some models benefit from flaps. I like CROW for my gliders, I have flaps on heavy gassers to shorten the approach for VTOL playing around. Our models don't need bomb drops or retracts, either. But it's fun!

If the radio is giving you fits there are two alternatives: a "Y" connector (with or without a servo reverser if needed) and a Servo combiner. I have found the Smart Fly Equalizer II a godsend when trying to match two servos to one control surface (like elevator halves each with its own servo) or match servos for other uses. I was about pulling my hair out with an otherwise beloved Futaba 9C. Could not eliminate the delay between elevator halves and that would have made flying interesting at best. The Equalizer II allows much more fine tuning, though I am sure higher quality transmitters have similar resolution.

http://www.smart-fly.com/products/Eq.../equalizer.htm
Charlie P. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:31 PM
  #7  
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,088
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Dup - sorry
Charlie P. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 02:14 PM
  #8  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,613
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I find flaps useful. Besides that, they are fun.
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service