Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Paint Test Panels. (Gas)

Old 09-06-2014, 07:13 PM
ETpilot

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Paint Test Panels. (Gas)

I have been reading about paint for my plane and made some paint test panels. I thought I would post FWIW. I am no expert at this. I am muddling through for a paint system. Right now I am leaning towards a latex paint and top coat.

The products I used are some I had in the shop and some very old. The polycrylic finish, silver paint and Deft polyurethane were purchased new.

The frames are pine sealed with 2 coats of polycrylic. I used a trim iron to attach dress liner to the frame using the polycrylic as the glue medium, heat gun to shrink then 2 coats of polycrylic to seal the weave.

The paints used,first panel, were Krylon yellow, latex enamel brown and very old acrylic latex white. Only the yellow was sprayed the rest was brushed. These were top coated as follows: top third Deft clear wood finish, middle Minwax polyurethane and bottom third Minwax spar urethane.

From what I have read, the polyurethanes tend to yellow with time. When I applied the top coat to the white they all turned yellow. You can tell from the picture. Again these were all very old products. The white was the worst. It had lots of solids that brushed on the panel.

Panel 2 was made the same way as the first. For paints: Duplicolor Silver, Fusion paint for plastic black and Rustoleum high performance red. All sprayed. For top coat: silver and red Deft Defthane Polyurethane sprayed and black was Minwax Brushing Lacquer.

The fuel mix used was Stihl Ultra oil, 50:1 mix using 87 octane non-ethanol gas.