Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

do you save clevases, control horns, bolts from wrecked planes?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.
View Poll Results: Do you salvage all hardware from wrecked planes including nylon parts
Yes
85.88%
No
14.12%
Voters: 85. You may not vote on this poll

do you save clevases, control horns, bolts from wrecked planes?

Old 05-20-2015, 06:54 AM
rccrazedman
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default do you save clevases, control horns, bolts from wrecked planes?

Ive been flying for a 15 years with a lot of on and off through the years as I get time to fly. When I started flying and tough all about this hobby one of the things my mentor tough me was to salvage everything off of a wrecked plane! he told me to save ever wheel, wheel collar, nut , bolt, clevis, control horn, pushrods if not bent, motor mounts, servos, etc. you get the picture everything. I've been doing it that all along and of course i will inspect all hardware carefully. I of course toss out any bolts that are bent stripped threads, clevis that are wrecked or wont stay closed, cracked, horns that dont look good or broke or anything that looks bad to me. of course I know the electric end of the deal check the servos closely, pop the tops of the servos and make sure it had no stripped gears. I always pull on the servo arms with my hand and run the servos to see if it has stripped gears or wont work under load with pretty good success. I have recently had one servo slip by me that i didn't notice it was not working properly and I put back in a wing to a plane. The plane almost made it in the air when I was at the flying field when I discovered that it wasn't working right. This made me ponder if I was really risking the safety of my Planes and people around me. I've been starting to wonder if this is good practice for saving especially nylon hardware like clevis a