Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Life or Lipo battery for field box

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Life or Lipo battery for field box

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2015, 06:04 PM
Axiom7

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Life or Lipo battery for field box

I am thinking of replacing the gel cell battery in my field box with a life or lipo battery. I am wondering if either battery type would work. I would like to make sure that it will run a glow clip and a starter at the same time if need be. I usually use a hot shot glow starter, but in the times that I need a corded glow clip, I would want to make sure it would run both. I have a sullivan 12v starter. I have been out of the hobby for about 15 years and I have very little knowledge of the newer battery tech.
Old 09-05-2015, 06:49 PM
kenh3497

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It sounds like you neither battery on had so one will need to be purchased. IMO the LiFe is the preferred battery to use. It (LiFe) is less fussy about state of charge and stores better. Both chemistries are fussy about over discharge but the LiFe may be a bit more robust than the LiPo in that respect. It you are handy then there are on line stores where you can purchase individual cells and build your own pack. Both chemistries need to be balanced charged so no difference there. A charger that will charge and balance the respective chemistries is needed. "Any old" charger will not work as both need to be charged to a specific voltage and over charging can be a disaster especially with LiPo.

I'm switching over to LiFe for all my flight packs as the old NiCad and NiMh packs reach the end of their life. I also plan on a LiFe for my starter this winter.

Ken
Old 09-05-2015, 09:13 PM
Axiom7