Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

How well does a castor wheel type tail wheel work?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

How well does a castor wheel type tail wheel work?

Old 11-10-2015, 06:35 PM
kmeyers

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by dbacque
Speaking as a club safety officer, I'd like to ask a question.

Your plane with a castering tailwheel is ready for takeoff and there are several other pilots on the flight line. You throttle up to take off, there's a crosswind and you find your plane heading towards your buddy in the next pilot's box. You have no way to turn the tailwheel. Do you throttle up and rudder over hoping that the plane will finally turn before it hits him at full throttle? Or do you throttle back, meaning you have absolutely no rudder control, ergo, no steering? So you hit him but not quite as fast. Or do you rethink this and find a safer way to control your airplane while it is on the ground?

Please think about safety in addition to thinking about what's easiest to build. A .40 size airplane can cause severe injuries in a botched takeoff attempt.

You need to have positive control over your aircraft at all times. This means on the ground as well as in the air.

This isn't just theory. I've seen it tried and it wasn't pretty. They eventually went back and found a way to control the tailwheel. But that was after breaking the airplane a couple of times. Thankfully, there were no injuries but it was close on the second accident. An out of control airplane is a scary thing.

Dave