Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

receiver and ignition sharing same battery

Reply

Old 07-31-2016, 05:06 AM
  #26  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I got to thinking about this and part of it is about context.

I have warbirds with dual batteries. Not because I feel another battery is needed but because it needs nose weight and I'd rather carry battery weight that's doing something useful than a pound of lead.

On my 3D style birds I would rather save the weight and enjoy the simplicity.

But to circle back to the original question, if properly installed it is NOT an interference problem.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 06:15 AM
  #27  
Gizmo-RCU
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athol, ID
Posts: 2,155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will take my chances, a dead engine (dead-stick) is much better than a dead receiver..............and no interference problem. No doubt the single battery system works for most folks I just feel better with two in my gassers!
Gizmo-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 10:19 AM
  #28  
sensei
 
sensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SAN ANTONIO, TX
Posts: 2,631
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
IBEC's aside, I have many hundreds of flights on planes with two leads coming out of the battery, one going to the ignition, one going to the receiver, it's not a problem.
Yup, I also have several hundred flights on my 40% Carden 260 I built in late 2006. I bought a DX-7 for guidance, and installed 2 ea. AR-7000 receivers, all fed from 2 Fromeco 2600 ma lions into a wolverine switch that Fromeco setup for me that has 2 ea. input and 3 ea. output, 1 to each receiver and 1 to the ignition module of my DA-100. That was nearly a decade ago, and guess what, no issued to date. The truth is 2.4 is just too far away for RF noise coming off the module to be an issue, or at least that is my own experience. Anyway these days I run a single powersafe receiver with duel lipo 2s batteries for power, I also run the Tech Aero IBEC, this technology just makes good sense...

Bob
sensei is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 07:30 PM
  #29  
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,605
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK slo, who do you think knows more about the transmission and reception of electromagnetic waves? The electrical engineers at the manufacturer who designed your radio and whose lively hood depends on it success or somebody typing on a keyboard who you have no idea what their qualifications are to even discuss the subject? Dan.
All Day Dan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 03:33 AM
  #30  
sensei
 
sensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SAN ANTONIO, TX
Posts: 2,631
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Ignorance is truly bliss...

Happy Flying,

Bob
sensei is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 06:12 AM
  #31  
Murphey
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will be the first to admit that I know absolutely nothing about electromagnetic transmissions, how they work, why they work or what goes on inside those black boxes...an absolute mystery to me. How ever I DO know that a dual use battery system and a Tech-Aero IBEC works for ME. As previously mentioned, one of the great things about this hobby is the freedom to use what ever method or system that makes you comfortable...can't think of too many things worse than flying a plane worrying if something will fail...so if you want multiple batteries...go for it...nothing wrong with that...or the person that chooses one method or the other.
M
Murphey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 06:55 AM
  #32  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well I happen to know at least two of the participants in this discussion have a combined probably 50 years of working on full scale avionics under our belts.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 04:01 PM
  #33  
crobara
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athol, ID
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello anyone still out there regarding this issue? When you run one battery do you use an empty slot on the receiver to provide the power to the ignition module?
crobara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 04:10 AM
  #34  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes, using a device like a Tech Aero IBEC it plugs into an open channel, you assign a switch and it not only powers the ignition but it acts as a transmitter activated kill swtich
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 10:31 AM
  #35  
crobara
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athol, ID
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
Yes, using a device like a Tech Aero IBEC it plugs into an open channel, you assign a switch and it not only powers the ignition but it acts as a transmitter activated kill swtich
Thanks cudda.
crobara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 06:41 PM
  #36  
onyta
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Only 8 channels

Can I plug the IBEC into a "Y" connector and feed it from say the rudder port ????????
onyta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 03:13 AM
  #37  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by onyta View Post
Can I plug the IBEC into a "Y" connector and feed it from say the rudder port ????????
No

It needs an aux channel end points otherwise you crank your rudder over and the motor shuts down.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 09:40 AM
  #38  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 3,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

receiver and ignition sharing same battery


it's not a problem until it becomes a problem

Jim
the Wasp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 11:11 AM
  #39  
onyta
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks from Onytay, going another way & stay with 2 bats.
onyta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 09:20 AM
  #40  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,876
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by the Wasp View Post
it's not a problem until it becomes a problem

Jim
That applies to every component in the airplane

Running sepe
scale only 4 me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 03:46 PM
  #41  
kenh3497
 
kenh3497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rockwell, IA
Posts: 1,497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Consider this..... For those of us that remember telephones that hung on the wall..... They were powered by a bank of batteries running at 48 volts DC. The RING was AC voltage imposed OVER the DC voltage to ring the bell. So in my humble opinion it is possible for interference to invade our DC powered systems. Maybe I'm just stirring the pot for no reason???????

Ken
kenh3497 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 03:36 PM
  #42  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,876
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well,, like has be said,, many of us have been dong it with no reported issues,,, can you find a report of it ever being a problem?,, sure anything can happen,, and when it starts happening I think there would be a fire storm on the internet about it,, I do't even see any smoke yet,,

I'm no here to convince anyone to set their plane up a way they are not comfortable with,, do what you feel is best for you,,, just telling you what has worked for me
scale only 4 me is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service