Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

help needed to find the right electric motor

Old 06-05-2017, 07:10 AM
schomper42

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default help needed to find the right electric motor

Hello,
I have been flying for about 3 years now and consider myself a beginner/intermediate flyer.
I have recently been given an old balsa rc plane with a gas engine. I want to tear out the nitro engine and put in an electric one. Here are the important specs you will want to know in order to help me pick the right motor and ESC. The plane weighs 7 1/2 pounds . This includes (2) 2200 3s lipo batteries in it. the wing is 72" long and has an area of 775 sq. in. Yes its a large wing and a heavy plane. It looks like it has a .46 engine in it with an 11" prop. I assume it flew ok with that combo. I tried using webocalc 1.7.6 and that's always a little confusing to me. I have a lot of 3s 2200 lipos and really didn't want to have to buy a new size battery like a 4s or 5s. I was thinking maybe I could take 2 of my 3s batteries and use a series connector so I would then have a 6s pack? Is this a feasible idea? Getting back to what motor I should buy. I didn't want to invest a lot of money into this old bird. I was thinking of buying this motor .
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/turnigy-...v-60-glow.html
and a

TURNIGY TRUST 70A SBEC Brushless Speed Controller

and then maybe try swinging a 12 or 13" prop
ANY suggestions or help at all would be much appreciated.
THANKS MUCH !!!!!

Bob
Old 06-05-2017, 12:42 PM
scale only 4 me

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Type of plane and flying style make a big difference? Is the a scale slower flying plane like a Cub or a 3D aerobatic plane?
Take a read here you want to find the right "Watt" motor for the plane and flying style,, http://www.rc-airplane-world.com/watts-per-pound.html