Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

New to RC Planes, help getting started

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

New to RC Planes, help getting started

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2018, 11:33 AM
gbflrs

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool New to RC Planes, help getting started

Hello, I am a high school teacher and I inherited a classroom full of supplies, tools, and airplane kits. I don't have a clue as to how these things operate, or come togetheretc. I have very little experience with RC vehicles and models but I know airplanes are a different task. I have boxes full of brand new kits which include:
Navistar Elite
Uproar ARF
Big Stik 40
Super Sportster 40
Giles G 202
Funstar MK2
and so much more. These are just a few. There's about 15 boxes with brand new ARF kits.
I also have dozens of brnad new O.S engines, radios tanks, you name it.

I'd like to start one on my own so I can feel more comfortable when I begin teaching it to students.

I'm pretty sure everything I'll need is in this classroom because there's a few kits already built and some that are even crashed.

My level of mechanical ability is probably advanced when it comes to real vehicles like maintenance, repair, fuel pumps, transmissions, etc. Dont want you to think I'm a total newbie in that dept. I know my way around a shop.

I'll upload a few pics soon of what I have currently. Thanks for any help and any advice you may be able to give.
Old 02-09-2018, 12:03 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 346 Likes on 277 Posts

The best advice is to find someone local

You can plug in a zip code and reach out to any local RC clubs by using this search function.
Also, AMA has a number of educational materials for teachers such as yourself Academy of Model Aeronautics
Academy of Model Aeronautics - AMA Charter Club Search
Old 02-09-2018, 03:04 PM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)