Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Extending Battery Leads

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Extending Battery Leads

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2018, 11:31 AM
poppy2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Extending Battery Leads

As I have indicated in a post a week or so ago, I have an Apprentice S 15e. I am new to LiPo batteries but learning fast. My question here is this. The battery that I have for it is a 3S 11.1V 3200mAh. When I put it in the bay on the bottom of the plane and run the leads up through a hole to connect with the connector at top end, there is very little of the leads from the battery exposed to work with. It can be done but tight. Is it possible to add an extension lead to the battery leads and extend them say another 4 or 5 inches without any reduction in power or other problems? Do they even sell something like that? Thank you in advanced for any help in this regard.

Poppy2
Old 10-21-2018, 01:07 PM
r ward

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

certainly, I prefer to solder extensions on rather than trust plug-in connections. just get the right (same) size wire, snip the existing lead in two and solder the extension wires in between. I like to use marine grade heat shrink tubing for the insulation. it has a hot melt adhesive inside the tube and forms a better seal with the wire casing than regular shrink tubing.. unless the extension is ridiculously long, the power won't suffer and plug-in connections rob power, so you'll be eliminating that loss.
Old 10-21-2018, 01:09 PM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts