Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Servo converter leads

Reply

Old 01-16-2019, 08:06 PM
  #1  
Bill Giulian
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Red face Servo converter leads

Anyone know where I can buy Servo connectors that are converting a Futaba servo to a JR connector. That is a Futaba female to a JR male servo connector. Thanks.
Bill Giulian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 08:21 PM
  #2  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No real need. The wire orientation is already correct. You simply need to file the tab off the one side and then bevel the two corners on the opposite side. If you want to do a bit more work, you can extract the pins from the Futaba connector and insert them into a JR connector.
speedracerntrixie is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 09:01 AM
  #3  
Bill Giulian
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the information but I really want the converter plugs.
Bill Giulian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 09:33 AM
  #4  
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,948
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm sure I've seen the connectors you want somewhere. I just can't find them right now. I was able to find these links. I'm sure that if you call Batteries America, they will fabricate anything you want.

https://www.servocity.com/electronic...ds/servo-leads

Connectors, Extensions, Switches

Rafael
Rafael23cc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 07:03 AM
  #5  
Steve Collins
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St.Charles, MO
Posts: 2,625
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Also Electro-Dynamics will make any sort of servo lead you want. Just tell them what you need. Good people and great service. Fast shipping as well.

ElectroDynamics Inc
Steve Collins is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 09:01 PM
  #6  
jester_s1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,607
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Why do you want to use converter plugs when it's so easy to take the extra Futaba tab off? You're talking about adding another possible failure point and spending addition money too. It only takes 10 seconds with an Xacto knife to mod the plug, and it will still work fine with Futaba receivers.
jester_s1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2019, 10:00 AM
  #7  
Bill Giulian
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I know that, been doing it for years. However, in this case I am using over size plugs similar to but not the same as Futaba that when I try to pare them down cause me to cut into pins. Safer and easier solution is to use the converter leads I was looking for. Just two days ago I found a company which will make them for me. So I ordered them. Thanks everyone for your help.
Bill Giulian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 11:47 AM
  #8  
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,948
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Would you mind sharing the name of the company, and perhaps sharing more information on the type of plugs? Now I'm curious.

Thanks
Rafael
Rafael23cc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 12:55 PM
  #9  
Bill Giulian
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey Rafael. The name of the company is Electro Dynamics Inc. Their website is Elecrodynam.com. They will custom make pretty much any wire hook-up you require. I wanted a Futaba female coming from a Futaba servo to have a JR type male on the other end. I realize If I was really dealing with a Futaba plug that I could shave the small extension to fit however, I was dealing with a generally oversize plug that I figured would fit a Futaba. Hopes this information helps you. Bill Giulian.
Bill Giulian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 02:59 PM
  #10  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 22,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I wondered myself.

In other news, is Sylvios still making the best Cheese steaks in the area?
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 05:12 AM
  #11  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Bill Giulian View Post
Hey Rafael. The name of the company is Electro Dynamics Inc. Their website is Elecrodynam.com. They will custom make pretty much any wire hook-up you require. I wanted a Futaba female coming from a Futaba servo to have a JR type male on the other end. I realize If I was really dealing with a Futaba plug that I could shave the small extension to fit however, I was dealing with a generally oversize plug that I figured would fit a Futaba. Hopes this information helps you. Bill Giulian.
JR and Hitec connectors can be used, eliminating the need for any Futaba connector. These servo extensions can be purchased anywhere, without the added cost for having special extensions made.
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 08:29 AM
  #12  
Bill Giulian
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Haven't you been reading my posts?
Bill Giulian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 09:47 AM
  #13  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,598
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Bill Giulian View Post
Haven't you been reading my posts?
You are making this harder than it needs to be. Plug your Futaba servo into a universal connector, like Hitec, and then plug it into the RX.

Last edited by TomCrump; 01-24-2019 at 09:50 AM.
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 11:22 AM
  #14  
Bill Giulian
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I never owned an Hitec. How High Tech is it? Been building and flying 75 years and never heard of a universal connector. Jr will fit in Futaba but you must cut off the thinner part of Futaba plug so it can fit into JR. Never ran into anything else until now. Will buy a Hitec wire in my next order and look it over. Bill Giulian

Last edited by Bill Giulian; 01-24-2019 at 11:25 AM.
Bill Giulian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 11:35 AM
  #15  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Bill, Hitec and JR servo connectors are virtually identical. Only difference is the signal wire on Hitec is yellow, JR is orange. I still think your best solution would be to extract the pins from the Futaba connector and replace with a JR connector. Realistically these are all versions of a Berg connector and the M/F pins are interchangeable to the different connector housings. If you like I would be more then happy to publish pictures of the process.
speedracerntrixie is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 12:17 PM
  #16  
Bill Giulian
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am familiar with what you are saying. However there are about 20 wires in this model and I did not discover the problem with a few of them until most of the wires were installed. I would have had to pull them all out again to work on the connectors. Did not feel like doing that due to cramped space with all wire connectors coming together. So, my solution was the Futaba to JR connectors. Getting lazy in my old age. But thanks for the Hitec connector information. Now i don't have to purchase one.
Bill Giulian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 01:29 PM
  #17  
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Got it, makes perfect sense.
speedracerntrixie is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service