Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

want to move away from a trainer because of the wind

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

want to move away from a trainer because of the wind

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2023, 12:27 PM
RCoffroadracer

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default want to move away from a trainer because of the wind

i'm still a newbie learning the ropes. my frustration comes from not being able to fly a trainer in any kind of wind conditions even a slight breeze that just takes control of it. I've wasted like 90% of the summer waiting for calm conditions. I have an Eflite apprentice sts 1.5. and a seagull models Arising Star. the eflight is so light even a 1mph breeze will plow it off course with tornado like force. it is a terrible plane because of this in my opinion. the Arising star weighs about 4 to 5 lbs Im guessing. it does a lot better due to the weight and the engine power. however, because of the trainer wing it too cannot be flown without over correcting for the breeze. once it reaches enough to rock the plane on the ground, it will not fly where I can feel comfortable. it too, will immediately go with the wind and be off course so fast I've almost lost it a few times.
so, my question is, what would be a logical next step of an airplane that i could still use to learn with and it will work in breezier conditions? I've wasted so many days this summer because the field i'm a member of is so open it's always breezy where the windsock is always 2/3 of the way erect. maybe find a new flying field?
Old 08-27-2023, 01:14 PM
jaka54

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

Hi!
Go with a low winged sport plane with a span of 130-140 cm powered by a .40 (6,5cc) glow engine. With this set up you could fly in any weather.