Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Glow Plug Idle Bar

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Glow Plug Idle Bar

Old 10-18-2003, 11:55 PM
Ward S.

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Glow Plug Idle Bar

I'm new to Glow and not overly knowledgeable about glow plugs. What purpose does the idle bar serve on some plugs? What are the advantages/disadvantages of having one?
Thank you for your response.
Ward
Old 10-19-2003, 12:06 AM
Ward S.

Default RE: Glow Plug Idle Bar

Never mind, did a search after asking the question and found lots of answers. Smart huh?

Copied from another post somewhere. Please let me know if this is incorrect information.
Thanks.
Ward

No but. Idle bar plugs came out when engines had a baffle across the piston which directed air from the intake port up into the cylinder. Fuel would stick to the baffle and fling off as small droplets. The idle bar stops the droplets from hitting the element. They do nothing for inverted engines. Since they are largely used on these older engines the heat of the plug is made to suit them, mostly slightly colder than say an OS #8. Unless you are running slightly higher nitro than most then a modern plug would most likely work better.
Old 10-19-2003, 02:01 AM
ho2zoo
My Feedback: (5)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

That sounds about right. I've only heard that the idle bar was there to help keep the fuel from cooling the element when you throttle down. I have never heard about the history of it though.