Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Finishing question for painters

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Finishing question for painters

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2003, 03:07 AM
tks1
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Finishing question for painters

I have been slowly building a TopFlite A7 Corsair between other projects. The wing is open structure and permanently attached to the fuse. I covered it with Solartex fabric. The fuse is bare balsa right now. Question is - my plan to this point was to put a couple thin coats of resin (no glass) on the fuse up to the wing to seal the wood and then prime and paint the entire structure (including the wing). Is this appropriate? I'm not very experienced in the world of painting. Just looking for some ideas.

tks1
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63038.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	72329  
Old 11-04-2003, 12:34 PM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Finishing question for painters

Certainly sounds like it will work fine.

Here's a tip I learned last night, but have not tried myself. It came from a club member who used it on their latest $8,000 Sukhoi, so I trust the info.

He uses standard Krylon paint, spray cans! Then he covers the plane with a coat of Clear LustreCote for fuel proofing. He swears by it, and it sounds real easy, so I'm going to have to try it.
Dennis-
Old 11-05-2003, 01:56 PM
tks1

Thanks Dennis. I'm going try that. Is it the fast-dry Krylon paint?

tks1
Old 11-05-2003, 08:23 PM
jettstarblue

Resin=weight, use the Krylon method, or water based polyurethane (or regular poly for that matter) Ever concider trying clear dope? very light when dry.

Jetts
Old 11-06-2003, 03:27 AM
tks1

jettstarblue