Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Building Giant scale Question

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Building Giant scale Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2003, 08:36 PM
maktec
My Feedback: (29)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building Giant scale Question

I am new in building from plans, How do some of you transfer the drawings to the bulsa?
AND what suggestion for a large building board, 4x8 plywood, Styrofoam Insulation board?

I am building a giant scale Cessna 182 from Holestler plans.
THanks
happy building
george
Old 12-28-2003, 08:47 PM
3dd
My Feedback: (6)

Default RE: Building Giant scale Question

i took an interior hollow core door from home depot and built a 2x4 fram and foldup legs under it and put a 1x4 frame around the outside leaving stick up the thickness of sounding board also from home depot and used that for a changable building serface that pins will hold up in it is very straight and flat built it for about twenty bucks. a tip for you, look for a door that is damaged on one side only and swing a discount for it
Old 12-28-2003, 09:55 PM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

As for transforing the lines to the balsa- go to Kinkos and photocopy the plans. Set the toner to darker settings. This will put more ink on the plans than necessary.

No go home and turn on your wifes Wal-mart iron. Place the kinkos copied plans on the balsa. Ink on the balsa. Iron right over the plans with a hot iron. The ink will steam off to the balsa for perfect outlines of parts and pieces.

Or you can get tracing paper and do it all by hand. Trace the parts and then glue the templates to your wood. Cut and sand.