Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

I want to build but not fly...YET.

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

I want to build but not fly...YET.

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2004, 04:37 AM
SpeeDFX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I want to build but not fly...YET.

Hey guys, I dont know how to fly radio controlled airplanes YET (I crashed my trainer into a wall at the end of the runway the first time I tried to take off by myself, but that's another story.)

I'm very interested in building models of planes, particularly warplanes like the F4U Corsair and the P51 mustang, preferable ones with at least a 50 inch wingspang just because I enjoy building things. I have a few questions. I've never built any model planes before and I want to know what kind of tools I need to build these wood kits? Are there any sources online that can help me read plans (I've never done it)? I also wanted to know if these r/c kits on the market are ok to be fully built without any electronics on them. For instance if I want to build a mustang completely (without electronics in it), will I have to damage it when I finally want to put an engine and electronics in it or is it easy to put those in?
Old 01-27-2004, 06:12 AM
FHHuber
Banned

Default RE: I want to build but not fly...YET.

Tools... at a minimum a good hobby knife and sandpaper. (lots of sandpaper, from 80 grit to 800 grit..... sometimes 3200 grit)

You really learn the techniques needed for the comlex kits best by starting with simpler kits. It is not a good idea to jump straight in and have one of the Top flite Gold edition warbirds as the first thing you build. The probability is... you would end up with a heavilly bult, yet still weak aircraft that is not straight.