Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Help w/CG and fuel tank location, giant scale!!!

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Help w/CG and fuel tank location, giant scale!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2004, 07:18 PM
aronhk_md
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help w/CG and fuel tank location, giant scale!!!

Ok, I know I'm new to this sport, and having recently learned to fly but never having built........

I have a giant scale Pober Pixie I have restored to flying (I think) condition. I am placing receiver, battery, and fuel tank while working on a guessed CG of 25% of the wing chord. Only thing is that the tank used to be placed in front of the former that houses the instrument panel............and this doesnt make sense to me because it seems well forward of the projected CG point to be placing an item that changes in weight as fuel is used. At 32 oz of gasoline am I making a mountain out of a mole hill?.....or should it be moved aft of that former to the general vicinity of the CG? The whole plane weighs in at 20 lbs approximately, and maybe that weight change is insignificant?

Also, there are two brass tubes to the fuel tank.....one obviously goes to the engine, and the other I am told goes to a vent.....

Do you then use the vent to fill the tank too? How is the vent routed and what does one do to keep the fuel from pouring out the vent, as both brass tubes enter the fuel tank at the same level....and even if they didnt I can't see the sense in having a vent that would leak when you fly inverted? I can't seem to find a diagram on this task....

Thanks in advance for your help guys.....
Old 07-17-2004, 09:03 PM
birdnest

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help w/CG and fuel tank location, giant scale!!!