Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Having a CG problem...Help?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Having a CG problem...Help?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2004, 09:58 PM
badz
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Having a CG problem...Help?

Ok I'm pretty new at rc airplanes but I've been flying a Arrow and LT40 both fly great with no problems...I purchased a great planes cg machine and balanced two new planes a us aircore colt and hobbistar mkiii 60...both planes nose over on takeoff's but according to the cg machine are perfectly balanced...set on the machine with both rods in by fuselage and at the cg as recommended....the hobbistar manual states they needed 2.5pz's of weight for protptype on tail mine has almost 4oz's of weight on tail.....but noses over bad...also both planes when nosing over wing tip to the left.....I haven't removed the weight and tried unbalanced cause I guess this would causse a problem...I have however balanced the Arrow in the same manner and it nosed over on takeoff and wintipped to left...I removed weights it flew?....Any suggestions? As I'm seeing this now the Great Planes CG machine sucks and doesn't work.
Old 10-05-2004, 11:38 PM
Broken

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Having a CG problem...Help?

Your statements are a bit confusing- A trike gear has a *tough* time nosing over unless the nose-wheel is turned sharp while on a high speed roll. Nose-over is possible on a tail-dragger if the man gear is to close to CG etc-

The CG machine is as simple as it gets when it comes to balance point- The only real issue is in the actual application of it (but that's up to you) Its not a perfect machine but the human factor is usually a good place to start when problems arise.. *RTM*