Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Too much elevator ? Rolling...

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Too much elevator ? Rolling...

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2004, 10:28 AM
JustPlaneCrazy3D

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Too much elevator ? Rolling...

I am new to flying and was wondering why some planes will roll with too much elevator ?

Thanks !
Old 10-11-2004, 11:14 AM
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Too much elevator ? Rolling...

can be a combo of things. One could be that one of the elevators is coming up more than the other causing the roll, or another could be that you are pitching up very quickly causing one tip to stall before the other causing the roll, or you could have a warped wing. Those are just a couple reasons it could happen. There are a ton of other factors that could cause it. CG could also play a part.
Old 10-11-2004, 11:17 AM
clolson
My Feedback: (7)

ORIGINAL: FlyLikeAnEagle

I am new to flying and was wondering why some planes will roll with too much elevator ?

Thanks !
Disclaimer: my degree is in computer science.

I have a couple planes that roll with too much elevator, and I'm pretty sure this is because high amounts of elevator are forcing the wing to stall. Normally one wing will stall before the other, and that combined with propellor torque, the swirling prop wash, and other little non-symetric things, causes the plane to "spin". You are actually doing a "spin" in the horizontal direction. Don't forget that a wing can stall at any speed if you force it into a high enough angle of attack. Releasing elevator let's the wing come back to a more normal angle of attack and the roll should stop. If you watch closely, an elevator induced roll should look a bit different than an aileron induced roll.