Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

4 stroke tank height

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

4 stroke tank height

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2005, 06:16 AM
john flynn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 stroke tank height

G'day to all, I'm putting together a Super Frontier Senior for a friend and he has purchased a OS 70 Surpass for it (probably a bit of over kill). I have mounted the engine inverted and now the fuel inlet nipple is about 1 inch lower then the center line of the tank. I've had little to no experience with 4 strokers and I'm wondering if we're going to have trouble with this setup (looks to me like it will flood). Can someone help out or point me to a link for setting up fuel systems for 4 strokes. Kind regards, John.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19367.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	233012  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:01 AM
jsn
My Feedback: (8)

Default RE: 4 stroke tank height

with any glow engine install you always want the tank center line as even as possible with the spray bar... an 1/8 inch off either way is close enough for me but 1 inch is not good at all UNLESS your gona put in some sort of pump/ regulator... if your not using some type of pump/regulator then you should move the tank down or the engine is going to flood easy and run rich when the plane is up right and lean when inverted. Most arf makers seem to forget that tank height DOES matter and just slap the tank in how ever it will fit the easiest... I haven't had an arf yet that didn't need the tank moved up or down a bit and in a few cases it had to be replaced all together with a smaller or different shaped tank to get it where it needed to be.

John
Old 02-22-2005, 07:54 AM
john flynn