Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Alerion to Rudder Mixing, Do I Need it.

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Alerion to Rudder Mixing, Do I Need it.

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2005, 02:55 AM
vai777p

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alerion to Rudder Mixing, Do I Need it.

Hi All,

I am upgrading to a 6 channel radio the Futaba 6DA or the 6VA. I can get the 6VA much cheaper than the 6DA however it does not have Alerion to Rudder mixing. Do you really need this function, also I am just starting out on trainers but also want my transmitter to have room to grow into. Having said that if it is a function you don't really use to often I'd rather spend less and just the cheaper option,

What do you all think ?
Old 03-20-2005, 03:04 AM
Hughes500E
My Feedback: (16)

Default RE: Alerion to Rudder Mixing, Do I Need it.

Best piece of advice you could receive is:
buy the best that you can afford. I would have saved many dollars if I would have just bought an 8 or 9 channel computer radio to begin with. The mixing you speak of is nice but, learn to fly with the rudder and it is unnecessary.
Just my 2 cents!
Cheers
Old 03-20-2005, 07:27 AM
GRANT ED

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Agreed, buy the best radio you can afford. After all its the only thing that you use on every plane. I own a PCM 9X. Having said that I have only used aileron to rudder mixing on my unltimate bipe.
Old 03-20-2005, 09:41 AM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Personally I wouldn't recommend rudder to aileron mixing. That is, at least until you get to the point where you want to fly IMAAC or Pattern compeition.

Seriously, you should be learning to use the left thumb for rudder control, and mixing it with the transmitter will slow your progress.