Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

spinner nut-how's it go on???

Reply

Old 11-20-2005, 09:39 PM
  #1  
k-vette
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rough and Ready, CA
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default spinner nut-how's it go on???

I've got a spinner nut to go on the front of an o.s. .91, but I'm not sure exactly what's the right way for it to go on. Do I just slide the prop on then tighten the spinner nut onto it? That seemed like it would work, but then the prop came loose without the spinner nut even budging. I think I need some help here...[sm=drowning.gif]
k-vette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 09:43 PM
  #2  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spinner nut-how's it go on???

but then the prop came loose without the spinner nut even budging
That sounds like the spinner nut actually tightened against the prop shaft where the threads stopped. Check your prop to see if it's hub is thicker than the unthreaded part of the prop shaft. If it is, then use the engine's original washer under the nut.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 09:57 PM
  #3  
k-vette
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rough and Ready, CA
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spinner nut-how's it go on???

I just checked it and it and that looks like the problem. Because of the locking nut sort of setup that came on the engine, the hole on the washer is too big for it to fit by itself. Would any other washer work fine as long as it's the right diameter as the shaft, or should it be something more airplane specific? (Obviously I'm new to this glow stuff)
k-vette is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 10:56 AM
  #4  
Deadeye
Senior Member
 
Deadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dutton, MT
Posts: 4,516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spinner nut-how's it go on???

I have ran into problems like this on older engines and newer props. I have substituted thin regular washers before. Go for it.
Deadeye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 12:58 PM
  #5  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spinner nut-how's it go on???

k-vette, you ARE using BOTH nuts to hold that washer on, right?
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 01:20 PM
  #6  
linclogs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lincoln, CA
Posts: 463
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spinner nut-how's it go on???

If the prop shaft is long enough use both nuts - the propnut that came with the engine and the spinner nut over the top of that. But I know sometimes there's not enough threads left to attach the spinner nut when the propnut is tightened down. Then, use the thrust washer that came with the engine and use the spinner nut to hold the prop on rather than the propnut.
linclogs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 01:40 PM
  #7  
redfox435cat
Senior Member
 
redfox435cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lompoc , CA
Posts: 1,469
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spinner nut-how's it go on???

I could see the point of using both but that look goofy. all's you need is the spinner nut. I've found 2 peices of spinner sand paper is enough to solve the thread issue. I seem to alway have some lying aaround from old planes.
redfox435cat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 04:47 PM
  #8  
k-vette
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rough and Ready, CA
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spinner nut-how's it go on???

Thanks for the input, I've got it on now so it won't come off. I had to use a lock washer, there's not enough room for the spinner and the two nuts that came with the engine.[8D]
k-vette is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service