Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Covering question

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Covering question

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2005, 01:53 PM
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Covering question

I have never covered a plane so I am not good at it. I have an ARF and would like to re-do some parts. My 1st concern is being able to cut the curved shapes. I can't imagine doing it with an exacto knife and having the curves come out nice an smooth. So how do I cut the shapes? I will cover the rainbows with a matching blue (see rest of plane).

Also once the pieces are cut can I just use that covering solvent and avoid the iron? I'm not good with irons, I always get air bubbles and/or creases.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xu62372.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	57.6 KB
ID:	360565   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt56187.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	360566   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr55109.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	360567  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:29 PM
redfox435cat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Covering question

I've found the best way to get good curve is on a great planes building board with an exacto knife. It has to be a new blade. Your base color should be ironed on but sovent will work. aditional colors on top of the monokoke should be alpied with solvent. If your having air bubble issues you should go over the suface with a wood pecker. I've found that with a really hot blow gun 99% of air bubbles will go away. My big problem is the schems around control surfaces.
Old 11-26-2005, 06:30 PM
Mitty

To cut out you can try to cutting on top of the piece of glas. I only covered several times but this method works good.