Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

mistake mounting engine

Reply

Old 12-04-2005, 06:59 PM
  #1  
Jugmaker
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lula, GA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default mistake mounting engine

go ahead and call me tsupid, think i screw up mounting the engine on my monocoupe. mounted it 1/4" to high. what effect will this have, will it even fly like this,should i go ahead and move it down?

jugmaker
Jugmaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 07:14 PM
  #2  
Tall Paul
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 5,211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mistake mounting engine

What size is the plane?
Tall Paul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 08:19 PM
  #3  
Gringo Flyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (18)
 
Gringo Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Formosa, ARGENTINA
Posts: 2,370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mistake mounting engine

Its not that hard to move it. Just pull out the mount put dowels in the previous holes and epoxy them in and sand them flat. Then mount the engine where it is suppossed to go.
Gringo Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 09:14 AM
  #4  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mistake mounting engine

I would also do what Gringo suggested
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 10:36 AM
  #5  
Jugmaker
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lula, GA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mistake mounting engine

it is a 60 size with a 100 flat twin saito
jugmaker
Jugmaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 01:09 PM
  #6  
Tall Paul
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 5,211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mistake mounting engine

It wouldn't make any difference, but it might look better with the crankshaft in the proper position.
Do what Gringo suggested.
Tall Paul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 11:14 PM
  #7  
Jugmaker
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lula, GA
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: mistake mounting engine

Thanks for all the help.Took Gringos' advice and moved the engine down. Got the coupe balanced and ready for first flight if the rain and wind will stop. Don't have a lot of time to fly this time of the year. Maybe this weekend. Again thanks for the help.

jugmaker
Jugmaker is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service