Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Pull Pull system

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Pull Pull system

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2005, 10:49 AM
Campy
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Pull Pull system

While I have been flying and building for 'a few years' , I have never done a pull pull system.

I am planing on doing a 1/6 scale Boeing P-26 from Cleveland plans as a winter project. This will be a 46 powered plane with a 56" wingspan.

I am wondering if installing pull pull is worth the effort (and headaches ) in a plane this size.

If so, how would you suggest doing the ailerons ? I have some small servos (BlueBird 306 or 308 w/metal gears rated @50oz ) I can use/easily fit in the wing for the ailerons. I am just not sure on how to do a hook up and routing for them. All the instructions I have seen deal either with the rudder or the elevator (Alan's RC page ).

Thanks.
Old 12-06-2005, 11:38 AM
jaka

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Pull Pull system

Hi!
A pull-pull system using thin fishing wire is the best metode to transfer motion from the servos to the flying surfaces. It also hinders vibration from the flying surfaces to go back to the servos destroying the potentiometer and electric motor. A pull-pull system is perfect for elevator and siderudder and is very easy to set up and weights little.
For ailerons this set up is not recommended as it is to difficult placing the wires inside the wing and having them take a 90degree turn to reach the ailerons.
Here a servo at each aileron is more feasible...or a having a single servo controlling both ailerons via an ordinary piano wire torque link system.
Here is some pictures from my Great Planes GEE BEE R-2 where I use wires to control both elevator and side rudder.