Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

CA vapors

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2005, 04:30 PM
halflight
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CA vapors

This is my six year in the hobby (I'm a builder).

CA fumes are really starting to bother me. I do have a small fan at the end of the building board and an exhaust fan in the window.. this seem to help some but I still get some irration if I'm not careful. maybe I'm getting an allergy to this stuff. I use Titebond wood glue when I can but some areas just need a fast drying glue. Does the orderless CA really help with this condition?
Old 12-12-2005, 04:43 PM
blikseme300
My Feedback: (118)

Default RE: CA vapors

Yes, your tolerance for the fumes become less the more you are exposed to it. It got so bad with me that I would get nose bleeds from the fumes. Good ventilation is a must. Some brands seem less noxious so I stick with them. PM me if you want the brands. The odorless stuff does not work nearly as well as the quick stuff.

Epoxy and polyester resins are the same. Prevent skin contact and use a proper ventilator if you are going to do large jobs. Wash off any skin contamination with soap and water.

Safe Flying!

Old 12-12-2005, 04:47 PM
Mods-R-Me
My Feedback: (1)

Hey nice to know I'm not alone. I am also a builder and the CA fumes got so bad that I had got two lung infections. I'm only 26! Got a respirator (gas mask) and opened some windows. Solved the problem. Hope this helps.

Mods
Old 12-12-2005, 05:18 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts