Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

bulk balsa order what to get?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

bulk balsa order what to get?

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2006, 09:31 PM
whatwheel

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bulk balsa order what to get?

To you who build from plans and buy bulk balsa orders, as far as sheets go do you order the less expensive narrower ones and splice if needed? do you make strips and sticks? what different thickness sheets ya da ya da .

Just want to get a general idea for a basic order, I am a good builder of kits but would like to try from plans, have not even picked a plane yet.

If any one wants to give it a try i would really appreciate any replys.
Thanks. Glenn.
Old 01-02-2006, 10:32 PM
huggins

Default RE: bulk balsa order what to get?

I always get the 3" or 4" wide stock. I never bother with the narrow or wide stuff. I also usually get the 4-6 lb. density contest grade balsa. It is nearly twice the price, but I like light planes. Width is sometimes governed by availability, especially with the contest grade stuff. I don't buy sticks or tri-stock. I just cut them on my table saw. I use a very thin veneer blade and waste due to blade kerf is minimal. I don't do that to save money (even though it does), I just like to be able to control the quality myself. Thin strips...razor blade and straight edge. As far as thicknesses goes, get what the job calls for. Scratch (or plan) building takes alot of planning prior to making a wood order. Plan what you will need for the job and get extra.

Mike
Old 01-02-2006, 10:53 PM
whatwheel

Thanks for the info Mike, thats a good start.
Glenn.
Old 01-03-2006, 06:44 PM
ballgunner
My Feedback: (1)